2013 MAC Field Hockey Postseason Awards Announced

Updated 11/7/2013
CLEVELAND, Ohio – On Thursday, the Mid-American Conference announced its postseason award-winners for the 2013 field hockey season which included All-MAC First and Second Teams, along with Freshman and Coach of the Year. The list was highlighted by the Player of the Year. 
Along with being named first team All-MAC, Ohio’s senior forward/midfielder Luli Gomez Teruel was named the 2013 MAC Player of the Year. Gomez Teruel led the conference in goals scored this season with 11 and averaged .69 goals per game. 
Capturing Freshman of the Year honors was Lexi Kavanaugh of Ball State. The freshman from Sherrill, N.Y. had a terrific year for Ball State, starting 15 of the team's 18 games. She led her teammates in goals scored this season with seven. 
Kent State head coach Kathleen Wiler was named this year's Coach of the Year by her colleagues. Under the guidance of the three-time MAC Coach of the Year, Kent State has garnered back-to-back MAC regular season titles. Wiler led her team to an overall record of 8-10 and conference record of 4-1 this season, grabbing the one seed in the MAC tournament.
The All-MAC first team was lead by senior Ali Froede of Miami and Ohio’s Gomez Teruel. Kent State’s Julia Hofmann, Central Michigan team mates Skylar VanNatta and Simone Lazar were honored for the second year in a row. Joining them is Hannah Faulkner and Rebecca Lee of Kent State. Bea Dechant, Emily Gruesser, and Sarah Mueller of Miami and Jessica Jue from Ohio round out the first team.
The second team was led by BSU's Kavanaugh. Central Michigan placed three on the squad with Anne Middledorp, Bailey McKeon and Sadie Lynn Reynolds getting the nod. MAC Regular Season Champion Kent State had Madison Thompson. Missouri State grabs two spots with Hillary Lawless and Charlie Redhead. Alyssa Logan and Carla Romagosa were also named to the team for the RedHawks. Ball State’s Bianca Velez and Ohio’s Adele Sammons rounded out the second team.
The 2013 MAC Field Hockey tournament starts tomorrow as No. 1 Kent State takes on No. 4 Central Michigan at 11:30 a.m. followed by No. 2 Ohio vs. No. 3 Miami at 2 p.m. The MAC Championship will take place Saturday, November 9 at 2 p.m.
Freshman of the Year: Lexi Kavanaugh, Ball State
Player of the Year: Luli Gomez Teruel, Ohio
Coach of the Year: Kathleen Wiler, Kent State 
All-MAC First Team
Ali Froede, Miami
Luli Gomez Teruel, Ohio
Julia Hofmann, Kent State
Hannah Faulkner, Kent State
Rebecca Lee, Kent State
Bea Dechant, Miami
Emily Gruesser, Miami
Skylar VanNatta, CMU
Jessica Jue, Ohio
Simone Lazar, CMU
Sarah Mueller, Miami
All-MAC Second Team
Lexi Kavanaugh, Ball State
Hillary Lawless, Missouri State
Anne Middledorp, CMU
Alyssa Logan, Miami
Charlie Redhead, Missouri State
Carla Romagosa, Miami
Adele Sammons, Ohio
Bailey McKeon, CMU
Madison Thompson, Kent State
Bianca Velez, Ball State
Sadie Lynn Reynolds, CMU