2013 Women's Soccer Preseason Poll

Updated 8/21/2013
CLEVELAND, Ohio - The Mid-American Conference Women's Soccer Coaches have made their preseason predictions for the 2013 season. The Miami RedHawks are the favorite to win the East Division regular season title, while the Toledo Rockets are the favorite to win the West Division. When MAC Tournament time rolls around in November, Miami is predicted to be MAC Tournament champs, as the RedHawks received 8 of the 12 votes.
Miami is coming off one of its best seasons in program history, posting a school and Mid-American Conference-record 20 wins, en route to a 20-3-1 record, including 10-0-1 in MAC play. The RedHawks captured both the MAC regular season and tournament titles for just the second time in program history.
Toledo was the MAC preseason favorite last year but the squad was decimated by injuries and limped to a 7-12-2 overall record. This included a 5-5-1 league mark which was good enough to qualify for the MAC Tournament for a school-record eighth consecutive season.
Kent State is a close second in the East receiving 62 votes. Ohio takes the third spot with 40 votes while Akron comes in fourth with 34 votes.  Rounding out the fifth and sixth spots in the East is Buffalo with 33 votes and Bowling Green with 16.
Eastern Michigan is predicted to finish second in the West receiving 52 votes.  Central Michigan not too far behind receives 50 votes for third.  In fourth place, Ball State receives 40 votes. Western Michigan takes fifth with 29 votes and Northern Illinois takes sixth place with 23 votes.
The 2013 season begins this weekend with nine teams beginning competition on Friday. Click HERE for the complete schedule.
2013 MAC Women’s Soccer Preseason Poll 
(First-Place votes in parentheses) 
Miami – 66 (10)
Kent State – 62 (2)
Ohio – 40 
Akron – 34  
Buffalo – 33 
Bowling Green – 16 
Toledo – 58 (4)
Eastern Michigan – 52 (4) 
Central Michigan – 50 (3) 
Ball State – 40 (1) 
Western Michigan – 29
Northern Illinois – 23
MAC Tournament Champion: Miami 8, Ball State 1, Central Michigan 1, Eastern Michigan 1, Kent State 1.