2012 MAC Field Hockey Postseason Awards Announced

Updated 11/1/2012


CLEVELAND, Ohio – On Thursday, the Mid-American Conference announced its postseason award-winners for the 2012 field hockey season which included All-MAC First and Second Teams, along with Freshman and Coach of the Year, and was highlighted by the Player of the Year.
The All-MAC first team was led by three players from the Miami RedHawks, followed by two players each from Central Michigan, Kent State, Missouri State, and Ohio.

The RedHawks to receive the first team honors were freshman Bea Dechant, senior Olivia Miller and junior Sarah Mueller. Goalkeeper Sarah Mueller appeared in 15 games for the RedHawks this season making a total of 109 saves for a .773 save percentage. Mueller’s defensive honors earned her MAC Defensive Player of the Week three times throughout the season.
Alongside being named to first team All-MAC, senior midfielder Olivia Miller was named the 2012 MAC Player of the Year. Her offensive efforts helped lead the RedHawks to its share of the 2012 regular season title. Miller closed out the season with the highest number of shots per game on the team with 3.2, she also lead Miami in goals, with eight scored. Miller is the second RedHawk to earn Player of the Year since 2004, when Kerri Orr was awarded.
The RedHawks’ awards didn’t stop there, aside from first team honors, Bea Dechant also collected Freshman of the Year honors. Dechant appeared in all 19 games for the RedHawks recording 39 shots and 38 shots on goal. She is the team leader in points recording 20 for the season. Dechant is the third Miami player to be named Freshman of the Year, and first since 1995 when Amanda Sokolow won the award.
Central Michigan’s juniors Simone Lazar and Skylar Vanatta placed on the 2012 first team followed by Kent State’s sophomore, Julia Hoffman and junior Rebecca Lee. Missouri State’s two players to make All-MAC first team were junior Hillary Lawless and senior Reiann Stoute.
Culminating the 2012 All-MAC first team are Ohio seniors Cathryn Altdoerffer and Taylor Brown, both are consecutive first team choices. Brown has scored 11 goals, is second in the league, and picked up eight assists making her second in the conference. Atldoerffer ranks third in assists and fifth in points.
The All-MAC second team tipped off with Ball State’s sophomore midfielder, Tori Widrick. Widrick saw action in all 18 games for Ball State, is second on the team in goals scored with five and tallied 11 points for the Cardinals this season.
The rest of the All-MAC second-team was made up of three players from Central Michigan and Ohio, two from Miami and one from Kent State and Missouri State. Representing Central Michigan was Erin Dye, Jordyn Brengosz and goalkeeper Anastasia Netto. For the Bobcats, Marissa Higgins, Jessica Jue and Laura Mastro received honors. From Miami, Valentina Neira and Emily Gruesser each were named with honors. And rounding out the second-team for Kent and Missouri State were Hannah Faulkner and Holly Scherer.
Miami continued to collect on postseason awards as Head Coach Inako Puzo was named the 2012 MAC Coach of the Year. Puzo led the RedHawks to a 10-9 overall record (4-1, MAC) in 2012. This marks the second time in school history a Miami coach has won Field Hockey Coach of the year, the last time was 2010 awarded to Jill Reeve.
Player of the Year
Olivia Miller, Miami, Sr., Midfielder

Freshman of the Year
Bea Dechant, Miami, Midfielder

Coach of the Year
Inako Puzo, Miami
All-MAC 1st Team
Skylar Vanatta, Central Michigan, Jr., Back
Simone Lazar, Central Michigan, Jr., Back
Julia Hoffman, Kent State, So., Midfielder Rebecca Lee, Kent State, Jr., Forward
Bea Dechant, Miami, Fr., Midfielder
Olivia Miller, Miami, Sr., Midfielder
Sarah Mueller, Miami, Jr., Goalkeeper
Reiann Stoute, Missouri State, Sr., Defender
Hillary Lawless, Missouri State, Jr., Forward
Taylor Brown, Ohio, Sr., Forward
Cathryn Altdoerffer, Ohio, Sr., Midfielder
All-MAC 2nd Team
Tori Widrick, Ball State, So. Midfielder
Erin Dye, Central Michigan, Sr., Midfielder
Anastasia Netto, Central Michigan, Sr., Goalkeeper
Jordyn Brengosz, Central Michigan, So., Back
Hannah Faulkner, Kent State, So., Forward
Valentina Neira, Miami, So., Forward
Emily Gruesser, Miami, Jr., Forward
Holly Scherer, Missouri State, Fr., Forward
Marissa Higgins, Ohio, Sr., Midfielder
Jessica Jue, Ohio, Jr., Midfielder/Back
Laura Mastro, Ohio, Sr., Midfielder