Miami Picked To Win MAC Women's Tennis Crown in Preseason Poll

Updated 1/22/2014

Miami Selected To Win MAC Regular Season and Tournament Title In Women’s Tennis Preseason Poll

Cleveland, OH – In the 2014 preseason poll conducted among the Mid-American Conference women’s tennis coaches, Miami University was selected to capture both the MAC regular season title and the MAC Tournament championship. 
Last season, Miami won its fifth consecutive MAC regular season title and the program’s third overall MAC tournament title as the No. 1 seeded RedHawks defeated No. 2 seed Bowling Green, 4-3.
Returning First-Team All-MAC selections from last year include Eastern Michigan sophomore Klara Supejova, who also was named 2013 MAC Freshman of the Year and MAC Player of the Year, Ball State junior Courtney Wild, a two-time All-MAC First Team Selection (2012, 2013), Miami senior Nimisha Mohan and Northern Illinois junior Nelle Youel.
All six of the 2013 Second-Team All-MAC selections return for this season, including Bowling Green senior Nikki Chiricosta, also a 2012 First-Team honoree, Buffalo senior Tanvi Shah, also a 2012 First-Team selection, Akron junior Olga Shkundina, also a 2012 First-Team honoree, Miami junior Alix Thurman, Ball State sophomore Courtney Earnest and Western Michigan senior Nini Sujashvili.
The 2014 tournament is slated for April 25-27 on the campus of Miami University in Oxford, Ohio.
The complete voting totals are as follows with eight head coaches casting votes.
2014 MAC Women’s Tennis Preseason Poll Voting
1. Miami (68)
2. Eastern Michigan (54)
3. Western Michigan (50)
4. Ball State (44)
t5. Akron (41)
t5. Bowling Green (41)
7. Buffalo (34)
8. Toledo (19)
9. Northern Illinois (9)
(total points based on 9 for a first place vote; 8 for second place, etc.)
First place votes: Miami (5); Eastern Michigan (2); Buffalo (1).
Tournament winner votes: Miami (3).