MAC Announces Volleyball Academic All-MAC

Updated 12/20/2013


CLEVELAND, Ohio - The Mid-American Conference announced Friday the final awards for the 2013 MAC Volleyball  season, as the conference office announced the 21-members of the 2013 Academic All-MAC Team as voted on by the twelve Faculty Athletic Representatives of the conference.
Representatives of nine of the MAC’s twelve teams make-up the 2013 Volleyball Academic All-MAC Team with four Bowling Green State University individuals leading the way.  Laura Avila, Lindsey Butterfield, Erica Fullenkamp and Kaitlyn Skinner represent the Falcons in 2013.  
Toledo and Western Michigan each landed two on the academic team, as the Rockets placed Dakota Harkins, Adria Pryor and All-American Honorable Mention, Lauren Rafdal.  This was only the second time in program history that the Rockets placed three members on the academic team, 2005 was the previous.   For the Broncos it was Lena Oliver, Lexie Pawlik and Ave Stout joining the squad.  
Kent State, Miami, Northern Illinois and Ohio each placed two members on the team.  For the Golden Flashes it was Hannah Herc and Kelly Hutchison, Jenny Ingle and Meg Riley for the RedHawks, Sarah Angelos and Mackenzie Roddy for the Huskies, and All-American Honorable Mentions Abby Gilleland and Kelly Lamberti for the Bobcats.  
Ball State’s Haley Benson and Central Michigan’s Kaitlyn McIntyre round out the 2013 Volleyball Academic All-MAC Team.  
Bowling Green's Kaitlyn Skinner and Northern Illinois' Mackenzie Roddy we the only two unanimous choices this year.
The Academic All-MAC honor is for a student-athlete who has excelled in athletics and academics. To qualify, a student-athlete must have at least a 3.20 cumulative GPA and have participated in at least 50 percent of the contests for that particular sport. First-year students and junior college transfers in their first year of residence are not eligible for the award.
2013 Volleyball Academic All-MAC
Hayley Benson, Ball State
Laura Avila, Bowling Green
Lindsey Butterfield, Bowling Green
Erica Fullenkamp, Bowling Green
Kaitlyn Skinner, Bowling Green
Kaitlyn McIntyre, Central Michigan
Hannah Herc, Kent State
Kelly Hutchison, Kent State
Jenny Ingle, Miami
Meg Riley, Miami
Sarah Angelos, Northern Illinois
Mackenzie Roddy, Northern Illinois
Abby Gilleland, Ohio
Kelly Lamberti, Ohio
Dakota Harkins, Toledo
Adria Pryor, Toledo
Lauren Rafdal, Toledo
Lena Oliver, Western Michigan
Lexie Pawlik, Western Michigan
Ave Stout, Western Michigan
Honorable Mention
Alex Cocklin, Akron
Jill Paluch, Akron
Kelsey Wilson, Akron
Lauren Grant, Ball State
Kati Vasalakis, Ball State
Jenna Spadafora, Ball State
Kylee Baker, Ball State
Kelsey Bates, Bowling Green
Libby Dachenhaus, Bowling Green
Ashley Dunn, Bowling Green
Paige Penrod, Bowling Green
Carissa McKenna, Buffalo
Amber Hatchett, Buffalo
Jenna Coates, Central Michigan
Kelly Maxwell, Central Michigan
Alyssa Davis, Eastern Michigan
Kelsey Jones, Eastern Michigan
Stacey Perinar, Eastern Michigan
Paige Roback, Eastern Michigan
Erin Short, Eastern Michigan
Corynne Smith, Eastern Michigan
Lauren Engleman, Kent State
Kaylee Koller, Kent State
Sarah Mills, Kent State
Aleksandra Nowak, Kent State
Bridget Wilhelm, Kent State
Annie Reiswig, Miami
Tori Clifford, Miami
Emily Paschke, Northern Illinois
Justine Schepler, Northern Illinois
Lauren Zielinski, Northern Illinois
Liis Kullerkann, Ohio
Jordan Kielty, Toledo
Becca Reidy, Toledo
Gillian Asque, Western Michigan
Claire Gerwig, Western Michigan