MAC Announces Men's Soccer's End Of The Year Awards

Updated 11/15/2013


CLEVELAND, Ohio – The Mid-American Conference announced on Friday the 2013 MAC Men’s Soccer All-MAC first and second teams in conjunction with the 2013 Player, Newcomer and “Gary V. Palmisano” Coach of the Year, as voted by the league’s seven head coaches.
Akron senior, Aodhan Quinn, earned was named the 2013 MAC Men’s Soccer Player of the Year after leading the Zips to their ninth consecutive Mid-American Conference regular season championship.  Quinn was second on the Zips and tied for eighth in the conference in goals.  Three of four of Quinn’s goals on the season were game winners coming against the likes of College of Charleston, #15 Wake Forest and #11 Penn State.   Quinn becomes the 11th Zip in program history to win the MAC Player of the Year honors. 
Buffalo’s Russell Cicerone was voted the 2013 MAC Newcomer of the Year after leading the Bulls to a near berth in the 2013 MAC Men’s Soccer Championship.  Cicerone led the Bulls with six goals, putting him tied for second in the conference, while shelling out three assists to give him 15 points on  the season.  Good enough for third in the MAC.  Cicerone becomes only the second Bulls individual to receive an individual award, joining 1999 Player of the Year Steve Butcher.  
The 2013 "Gary V. Palmisano" Coach of the Year award was garnered by Hartwick Head Coach, John Scott.  Scott led the Hawks to the #3 seed in this year’s MAC Championship with a 3-2-1 league record.  Scott’s signature moment this season came October 10 when the Hawks went into Akron and knocked off the Zips, 2-0, snapping the Zips NCAA record 49-match conference unbeaten streak in the Hawks’ conference opener.  For Scott, it marks his first MAC Coach of the Year as well as the programs first individual honor.
The 12-member All-MAC First Team saw three schools represented in 2013.  Akron led the way with nine members on the first team, followed by two from West Virginia and one from Buffalo.  For Akron, joining Player of the Year Aodhan Quinn were, Reinaldo Brenes, Eric Stevenson, Adam Najem, Victor Souto, Bryan Gallego, Andrew Souders, Robbie Derschang and goalkeeper Fernando Pina.  West Virginia junior, and MAC leading goal-scorer, Andy Bevin received First Team honors as well as teammate Majed Osman.  Newcomer of the Year Russell Cicerone rounded out the first team as Buffalo’s lone representative.
The Second Team also saw 12-members receive All-MAC honors with four members from Bowling Green, three from Western Michigan and Hartwick, and one from each Northern Illinois and Akron as well.  For the Falcons, Ryan Comiskey, Brandon Silva, Danny Baraldi and co-shutout leader Michael Wiest were named to the Second Team.  For the #2 seed Western Michigan Broncos, Oliver Mayer, Marco Lobo and goalkeeper Chase Rau were named.  For Hartwick it was Chris Walter, Ross MacKinnon and Matthew Robertson while Northern Illinois added Isaac Kannah and Akron placed Saad Abdul-Salaam.  
The 2013 Mid-American Conference Championship begins today at 4 PM when #2 Western Michigan takes on #3 Hartwick on the campus of the University of Akron.  The second match will begin at approximately 7 PM when #1 Akron hosts #4 West Virginia.  The winners of the two games will meet Sunday, November 17th at 1 PM to play for the MAC Championship.
2013 MAC Player of the Year
Aodhan Quinn, Akron
2013 MAC Newcomer of the Year
Russell Cicerone, Buffalo
2013 "Gary V. Palmisano" Coach of the Year
John Scott, Hartwick
All-MAC First Team 
F Reinaldo Brenes, Akron
F Eric Stevenson, Akron
F Andy Bevin, West Virginia
M Aodhan Quinn, Akron
M Adam Najem, Akron
M Victor Souto, Akron
M Russell Cicerone, Buffalo
M Majed Osman, West Virginia
D Bryan Gallego, Akron
D Andrew Souders, Akron
D Robbie Derschang, Akron
GK Fernando Pina, Akron
All-MAC Second Team 
F Ryan Comiskey, Bowling Green
F Isaac Kannah, Northern Illinois
F Oliver Mayer, Western Michigan
M Brandon Silva, Bowling Green
M Danny Baraldi, Bowling Green
M Chris Walter, Hartwick
M Marco Lobo, Western Michigan
D Saad Abdul-Salaam, Akron
D Ross MacKinnon, Hartwick
D Matthew Robertson, Hartwick
GK Michael Wiest, Bowling Green
GK Chase Rau, Western Michigan