MAC Announces November Wrestling Rankings

Updated 11/14/2013
Ohio Bobcats selected as favorite in narrow rankings over Missouri and Old Dominion
CLEVELAND, Ohio – The Mid-American Conference wrestling coaches announced November weight class individual rankings in conjunction with the league office today.  Based on the individual rankings, the Ohio Bobcats were selected first in the Conference and will look to overcome defending MAC tournament champion Missouri.
The November rankings were very close as Ohio (20.5 points) edged second place Missouri (20.0 points) and only nine points separated first place Ohio from fifth place Central Michigan (11.5 points).  In between, new affiliate members Old Dominion (15.5 points) ranked third and Northern Iowa (13.0 points) ranked fourth.
Coming off a successful 2012-13 wrestling season that witnessed a Conference-best 11 All-Americans and 40 wrestlers seeded in the 2013 NCAA Wrestling Championship, the momentum for MAC wrestling continues to rise as the Conference welcomes affiliate members Missouri, Northern Iowa and Old Dominion for the 2013-14 regular season and 2014 MAC Wrestling Tournament.
In the fall of 2012, the MAC announced the addition of Missouri, Northern Iowa and Old Dominion as affiliate members in the sport of wrestling.  All three universities joined the MAC with five-year agreements, as Missouri and Northern Iowa joined the MAC for the 2013 conference tournament and then to participate in regular season and tournament action for the next four consecutive years (2013-14 season thru 2016-17 academic season).  Old Dominion joins the MAC for the regular season and tournament action this season through the 2017-18 academic season.
The rankings will be released each month throughout the season, with one additional ranking system (two total) in January and February.  The 2013-14 preseason rankings, voted on by the league’s head coaches in an open forum are as follows:
2013-14 MAC Weight Class November Rankings:
125 – 1. Jerome Robinson (Old Dominion, Junior); 2. Max Soria (Buffalo, Junior); 3. KeVon Powell (Ohio, Sophomore); 4. Dylan Peters (Northern Iowa, Freshman).
133 – 1. Levi Wolfensperger (Northern Iowa, Junior); 2. Joe Roth (Central Michigan, Senior); 3. Scott Festejo (Old Dominion, Senior); 4. Mac McGuire (Kent State, Sophomore).
141 – 1. Joey Lazor (Northern Iowa, Senior); 2. Zach Horan (Central Michigan, Sophomore); 3. Chris Mecate (Old Dominion, Sophomore); 4. Tyler Small (Kent State, Junior).
149 – 1. Drake Houdashelt (Missouri, Junior); 2. Alexander Richardson (Old Dominion, Sophomore); t3. Scott Mattingly (Central Michigan, Senior); t3. Tywan Claxton (Ohio, Junior).
157 – 1. Kyle Bradley (Missouri, Senior); 2. Ian Miller (Kent State, Sophomore); 3. Spartak Chino (Ohio, Sophomore); 4. Lucas Smith (Central Michigan, Sophomore).
165 – 1. Zach Toal (Missouri, Senior); 2. Harrison Hightower (Ohio, Junior); t3. Devin Geoghegan (Old Dominion, Sophomore); t3. Wally Mazairz (Buffalo, Junior).
174 – 1. Cody Walters (Ohio, Sophomore); 2. Mike Ottinger (Central Michigan, Junior); 3. Caleb Marsh (Kent State, Junior); 4. Billy Curling (Old Dominion, Senior).
184 – 1. Ryan Loder (Northern Iowa, Senior); 2. Johnny Eblen (Missouri, Junior); 3. Phillip Joseph (Eastern Michigan, Senior); 4. Sam Wheeler (Kent State, Sophomore).
197 – 1. Phil Wellington (Ohio, Sophomore); 2. Nick Whitenburg (Eastern Michigan, Senior); 3. J’den Cox (Missouri, Freshman); 4. Kevin Beazley (Old Dominion, Freshman).
HWT – 1. Jeremy Johnson (Ohio, Senior); 2. Devin Mellon (Missouri, Junior); 3. Jared Torrence (Northern Illinois, Senior); 4. Matt Tourdot (Old Dominion, Junior).
The team rankings were also decided in the same forum.  The nine schools were ranked based on the number of first through fourth-place votes that were earned in the individual voting system.  A first-place vote was worth four team points; a second-place vote earned three team points; third-seeded votes were worth two team points, while a fourth-place tally earned one point in the team ranking system.  The November team rankings for the MAC are as follows:
2013-14 MAC Rankings Poll - November
1. Ohio (20.5)
2. Missouri (20.0)
3. Old Dominion (15.5)
4. Northern Iowa (13)
5. Central Michigan (11.5)
6. Kent State (8)
7. Eastern Michigan (5)
8. Buffalo (4.5)
9. Northern Illinois (2)
The 2014 MAC Wrestling Championships will be held March 8-9 and hosted by Kent State University.  Last year, Missouri ended Central Michigan’s eleven-year run as Conference Tournament Champions.  Missouri finished with 136 points, followed by second-place Central Michigan (88 points) and third-place Northern Iowa (83 points).