2013 MAC Women's Soccer Postseason Awards Announced

Updated 11/7/2013
CLEVELAND, Ohio - The Mid-American Conference announced its 2013 women's soccer All-MAC teams, as well as its Offensive Player of the Year, Defensive Player of the Year, Freshman of the Year and Coach of the Year on Friday, as voted by the league's head coaches.
The Offensive Player of the Year honor was earned by Eastern Michigan’s forward Angela Vultaggio. The junior from Chesterfield, Mich. is tied for the conference lead in assists with seven and is second in points (31), goals (12), and shots (71).  After being named Freshman of the year and voted to the All-Freshman team in 2011, this is her first time being named to the All-MAC First Team.
Eastern Michigan’s Emily Dzik and Kent State’s Morgan Mah tabbed as Co-Defensive Players of the Year.  The Eagles junior started 19 games this season and had three goals this season.  The Golden Flashes senior also started 19 games this year and has two goals and two assists this season.  
Freshman of the Year was given to Kent State’s Jenna Hellstrom. The defender from Sudbury, Ontario, Canada found the back of the net five times during the regular season along with five assists.
Eastern Michigan head coach Scott Hall was named this year's Coach of the Year by his colleagues. Hall led his team to an overall record of 12-6-2 and conference record of 8-2-1 this season, grabbing the MAC regular season title. 
Well-represented on the All-MAC first team were the regular season champs.  The Eagles grabbed four spots: senior Cara Cutaia, junior Vultaggio, junior Dzik, and Stephanie Clarke.  Dzik claims first team honors for the second year in a row.
Miami senior’s Katy Dolesh and Kayla Zakrzewski claim first team honors for the second year in a row.  Rounding out the first team were Toledo senior Rachel MacLeod, Central Michigan’s Estee Outcalt, Western Michigan senior Michelle Watson and Kent State’s Jessacca Gironda and Mah.   
Leading the second team with five members were the WMU Broncos: senior Lauren Fearday, juniors Rachel Chaney and Aubrey Subomier, and sophomores Kyle Nylen and Lindsey Lee.  Central Michigan senior Grace Labrecque and junior Emily Cooksey also made the squad.  Madison Oyer of Ball State, Miami’s Kelsey Dinges and Courtney Zanotti, Akron’s Lani Smith, and EMU’s Marissa Kozikowski rounded out the second team, respectively.
Leading the way on the all-Freshman team with three selections was Kent State. Hellstrom, Brittany Maisano and Abbie Lawson all earned a spot for their strong rookie campaigns. Finishing off this year's team was Madison Hirsch of EMU, Kaylin Hoomaian and Samantha Maher of CMU, Megan Ross of WMU, Alexis Milesky of Ohio, Rachel Marble of Miami, Leah Mattingly of Ball State, Alex Elias of Northern Illinois, and Paige Amodio of Bowling Green.
The MAC Women's Soccer Championship continues on Friday with the second round of the tournament. At 11 a.m., host Eastern Michigan Eagles take on the Western Michigan Broncos. The second game of the day will begin at 2 p.m. between the Ball State Cardinals and Miami RedHawks. The winners of Friday's semifinals will play for the MAC Championship on Sunday, November 10th.


Freshman of the year: Jenna Hellstrom, Kent State

Offensive Player of the Year: Angela Vultaggio, Junior, EMU

Co-Defensive Players of the Year: Emily Dzik, Junior, EMU; Morgan Mah, Senior, Kent State

Coach of the Year: Scott Hall, Eastern Michigan


All-MAC First Team

Cara Cutaia, Senior, EMU

Katy Dolesh, Senior, Miami

Kayla Zakrzewski, Senior, Miami

Rachel MacLeod, Senior, Toledo

Angela Vultaggio, Junior, EMU

Jessacca Gironda, Senior, Kent State

Emily Dzik, Junior, EMU

Morgan Mah, Senior, Kent State

Estee Outcalt, Senior, CMU

Michelle Watson, Senior, WMU

Stephanie Clarke, Senior, EMU


All-MAC Second Team

Kyle Nylen, Sophomore, WMU

Emily Cooksey, Junior, CMU

Madison Oyer, Sophomore, Ball State

Kelsey Dinges, Junior, Miami

Lani Smith, Junior, Akron

Rachel Chaney, Junior, WMU

Aubrey Sudomier, Junior, WMU

Courtney Zanotti, Junior, Miami

Marissa Kozikowski, Junior, EMU

Lauren Fearday, Senior, WMU

Lindsey Lee, Sophomore, WMU

Grace Labrecque, Senior, CMU


All-Freshman Team:

Madison Hirsch, EMU

Kaylin Hoomaian, CMU

 Megan Ross, WMU

Alexis Milesky, Ohio

Jenna Hellstrom, Kent State

Brittany Maisano, Kent State

Rachel Marble, Miami

Samantha Maher, CMU

Leah Mattingly, Ball State

Alex Elias, Northern Illinois

Abbie Lawson, Kent State

Paige Amodio, BGSU