Walter Camp Watch List Recognizes Four MAC Student-Athletes

Updated 7/19/2013

Walter Camp Football Foundation Announces 2013 Player of the Year “Watch List”

Dri Archer, David Fluellen, Jordan Lynch and Tyler Tettleton Named to Watch List
New Haven, Conn. – The Walter Camp Football Foundation has announced the names of fifty “players to watch” for its 2013 Player of the Year award, the nation’s fourth-oldest individual college football accolade.  Representing the MAC are Kent State RB/WR Dri Archer, Toledo RB David Fluellen, Northern Illinois QB Jordan Lynch and Ohio QB Tyler Tettleton.
Archer came storming back in 2012, after sitting out the 2011 season, with a Kent State single-season record 23 touchdowns (16 rushing, 4 receiving, 3 kick returns).  His 9.0 yards per carry led the nation as did his 36.9 yards per kick return. 
Fluellen rushed for 1,498 yards and 13 touchdowns as a junior, finishing eighth in the nation with a 124.8 yards per game average. Three times he rushed for over 200 yards in a game, including 228 vs. Buffalo on Oct. 27.
Lynch, the first FBS player to pass for more than 3,000 and rush for more than 1,500 yards in a single season, led Northern Illinois to a school-record 12 wins in 2012. The Huskies defeated Kent State, 44-37, in double overtime, to win their second consecutive MAC crown, and became the first league team to earn a spot in a Bowl Championship Series (BCS) bowl game with their appearance in the Discover Orange Bowl.  Lynch led the country in 100-yard rushing games with 12 to rank fourth in the nation in rushing. He broke the NCAA FBS record for rushing yards by a quarterback with 1,815 and scored 19 rushing touchdowns. Lynch completed 61 percent (256-of-420) of his passes for 3,317 yards with 25 touchdowns and six interceptions. 
Last season, Tettleton became the first Ohio quarterback to throw for 2,500 yards-or-more in back-to-back seasons. He finished the year by completing 62.1 percent of his passes (228-of-367) for 2,844 yards, 18 touchdowns and just four interceptions. Tettleton concluded the year by earning Co-Offensive Most Valuable Player honors at the Advocare V100 Independence Bowl, leading the Bobcats to a convincing 45-14 victory over Louisiana-Monroe. Heading into the 2013 season, Tettleton currently holds nine Ohio University football career records, including the school standard for passing yards (6,274), most completions (504) and most touchdowns (46). He has also directed the Bobcats to back-to-back bowl victories.
Twelve players on the 2013 watch list have previously earned Walter Camp All-America honors. In all, 37 schools are represented on the list with defending national champion Alabama having four players.
“We are proud to continue the great work of Walter Camp and recognize the best college football players in the nation,” Foundation president James Monico said. “This watch list is a great start to what is shaping up to be another exciting year of college football.”
The watch list will be narrowed to 10 semi-finalists in mid-November.  The 2013 Walter Camp Player of the Year recipient, which is voted on by the 125 NCAA Bowl Subdivision head coaches and sports information directors, will be announced live on ESPN SportsCenter on Thursday, December 12.  The winner will then receive his trophy at the Foundation’s annual national awards banquet on January 11, 2014 at the Yale University Commons in New Haven.
Walter Camp, “The Father of American football,” first selected an All-America team in 1889. Camp – a former Yale University athlete and football coach – is also credited with developing play from scrimmage, set plays, the numerical assessment of goals and tries and the restriction of play to eleven men per side. The Walter Camp Football Foundation ( – a New Haven-based all-volunteer group – was founded in 1967 to perpetuate the ideals of Camp and to continue the tradition of selecting annually an All-America team.
2013 Walter Camp Player of the Year “Watch List”
Ameer Abdullah, RB, Nebraska
Antonio Andrews, RB, Western Kentucky
Dri Archer, RB, Kent State
Tajh Boyd, QB, Clemson
Teddy Bridgewater, QB, Louisville
Kolton Browning, QB, Louisiana Monroe
Anthony Barr, LB, UCLA
Ka’Deem Carey, RB, Arizona *
Derek Carr, QB, Fresno State
Rakeem Cato, QB, Marshall
Jadeveon Clowney, DE, South Carolina *
Amari Cooper, WR, Alabama
David Fluellen, RB, Toledo
Phillip Gaines, DB, Rice
Todd Gurley, RB, Georgia
John Hubert, RB, Kansas State
Jackson Jeffcoat, DE, Texas
Duke Johnson, RB, Miami Fla. #
Chuckie Keeton, QB, Utah State
Marqise Lee, WR, USC *
Taylor Lewan, OT, Michigan *
Jordan Lynch, QB, Northern Illinois
Johnny Manziel, QB, Texas A&M *
Marcus Mariota, QB, Oregon
Jake Matthews, OT, Texas A&M #
Jordan Matthews, WR, Vanderbilt
Venric Mark, RB, Northwestern
Taylor Martinez, QB, Nebraska
AJ McCarron, QB, Alabama
Braxton Miller, QB, Ohio State
C.J. Mosley, LB, Alabama *
Aaron Murray, QB, Georgia
Louis Nix III, DE, Notre Dame
Casey Pachall, QB, TCU
Keith Price, QB, Washington
Silas Redd, RB, USC
Bradley Roby, DB, Ohio State #
Tyler Russell, QB, Mississippi State
Bishop Sankey, RB, Washington
Lache Seastrunk, RB, Baylor
Yawin Smallwood, LB, Connecticut
Will Sutton, DT, Arizona State #
Tyler Tettleton, QB, Ohio
De’Anthony Thomas, RB, Oregon
Logan Thomas, QB, Virginia Tech
Stephon Tuitt, DE, Notre Dame #
Kyle Van Noy, LB, BYU
Jason Verrett, DB, TCU #
Sammy Watkins, WR, Clemson
T.J. Yeldon, RB, Alabama
* 2012 Walter Camp First Team All-American # - 2012 Walter Camp Second Team All-American
The Walter Camp Foundation is a member of the National College Football Awards Association (NCFAA) which encompasses the most prestigious awards in college football. The 21 awards boast 678 years of tradition-selection excellence.