Lynch, Tettleton, Wenning Named to Davey O'Brien Watch List

Updated 7/17/2013

2013 Davey O’Brien National Quarterback Award Watch List Announced

Jordan Lynch, Northern Illinois; Tyler Tettleton, Ohio; and Keith Wenning, Ball State Represent the MAC

FORT WORTH, Texas – The Davey O’Brien Foundation announced the 2013 Davey O’Brien National Quarterback Award® Watch List today.  Joining the list of quarterbacks from the MAC are Jordan Lynch of Northern Illinois, Tyler Tettleton from Ohio and Keith Wenning of Ball State.

Lynch proved his versatility last season becoming the first Football Bowl Subdivision (FBS) in NCAA history to pass for more than 3,000 yards (3,138) and rush for more than 1,500 yards (1,815) in a single season. Last season, the Chicago native ranked fourth in the nation in rushing and had more 100-yard games (12) than any other player in Division I. a product of Mt. Carmel High School, Lynch led the Huskies to a 12-game winning streak, including a double overtime win over Kent State, and a berth in the 2013 Orange Bowl.

Lynch, who finished seventh in the Heisman Trophy voting last year, earned second team All-America honors from the Associated Press and Phil Steele's Magazine last season and won the Vern Smith Leadership Award as MAC MVP. NIU has launched a Heisman Trophy campaign for Lynch for 2013 centered around the theme, "Jordan  Lynch for 6," including a website,
Last season, Tettleton became the first Ohio quarterback to throw for 2,500 yards-or-more in back-to-back seasons. He finished the year by completing 62.1 percent of his passes (228-of-367) for 2,844 yards, 18 touchdowns and just four interceptions. Tettleton concluded the year by earning Co-Offensive Most Valuable Player honors at the Advocare V100 Independence Bowl, leading the Bobcats to a convincing 45-14 victory over Louisiana-Monroe.
Heading into the 2013 season, Tettleton currently holds nine Ohio University football career records, including the school standard for passing yards (6,274), most completions (504) and most touchdowns (46). He has also directed the Bobcats to back-to-back bowl victories.

Wenning was named to the All-MAC Second Team in 2012 and was a two-time MAC Player of the Week.  Wenning enters his senior season second in career passing yards (7,254) and first in career pass attempts (1,144) at Ball State.  He started 33 straight games before missing the 2012 regular season finale with an injury, but returned to start the Beef 'O' Brady's St. Petersburg Bowl.  A 2013 team captain, Wenning received Ball State's John Magnabosco Most Valuable Offensive Player Award as a junior.  

Also a team captain as a junior, Wenning's name has shattered many of the school's single season marks.  Wenning ranked 31st in the nation last season with 257.9 passing yards per game.  He completed 301-of-460 passes for 3,095 yards in 2012 with 24 TD passes.  Wenning set the school record for pass completions in a single season and career last season.  Wenning has passed for 7,254 career yards and is only the second player in Ball State history to surpass the 7,000-yard passing plateau.
This year’s list, which was compiled by a subset of the Davey O’Brien National Selection Committee, features 34 of the nation’s best college quarterbacks who were selected based on player performance during the previous year and expectations heading into the 2013 college football season.  

The 2012 Davey O’Brien Winner, Johnny Manziel (Texas A&M) and 2012 finalist Braxton Miller (Ohio State) join five 2012 semifinalists on the Watch List: Tajh Boyd (Clemson), Teddy Bridgewater (Louisville), Marcus Mariota (Oregon), AJ McCarron (Alabama) and Aaron Murray (Georgia).

Appearing on the Watch List is not a requirement for a player to win the Davey O’Brien Award. Quarterbacks from all 125 NCAA Division I Football Bowl Subdivision (FBS) schools are eligible for the award until the field is narrowed to 16 semifinalists on Monday, Nov. 4. The Foundation and the Selection Committee will announce three finalists on Monday, Nov. 25. The 2013 Davey O’Brien Winner will be announced on The Home Depot College Football Awards on Thursday, Dec. 12.

The 37th Annual Davey O’Brien Awards Dinner will be held Feb. 17, 2014 in Fort Worth, Texas.

2013 Davey O’Brien Watch List

David Ash, Texas, Big 12

Blake, Bortles, UCF, AAC

Tajh Boyd, Clemson, ACC

Teddy Bridgewater, Louisville, AAC

Terrance Broadway, Louisiana-Lafayette, Sun Belt

Kolton Browning, ULM, Sun Belt

Derek Carr, Fresno State, MWC

Rakeem Cato, Marshall, C-USA

Cody Fajardo, Nevada, MWC

David Fales, San Jose State, MWC

James Franklin, Missouri, SEC

Devin Gardner, Michigan, Big Ten

Kevin Hogan, Stanford, Pac-12

Brett Hundley, UCLA, Pac-12

Chuckie Keeton, Utah State, MWC

Taylor Kelly, Arizona State, Pac-12

Jordan Lynch, Northern Illinois, MAC

Johnny Manziel, Texas A&M, SEC

Marcus Mariota, Oregon, Pac-12

Taylor Martinez, Nebraska, Big Ten

AJ McCarron, Alabama, SEC

Braxton Miller, Ohio State, Big Ten

Stephen Morris, Miami (FL), ACC

Aaron Murray, Georgia, SEC

Casey Pachall, TCU, Big 12

Keith Price, Washington, Pac-12

Bryn Renner, North Carolina, ACC

Keenan Reynolds, Navy, Independent

Tyler Russell, Mississippi State, SEC

Connor Shaw, South Carolina, SEC

Tyler Tettleton, Ohio, MAC

Logan Thomas, Virginia Tech, ACC

Bo Wallace, Ole Miss, SEC

Keith Wenning, Ball State, MAC


About the Davey O’Brien National Quarterback Award®

The Davey O’Brien National Quarterback Award is presented annually to the nation’s best college quarterback and is the oldest and most prestigious national quarterback award. The Davey O’Brien Award honors candidates who exemplify Davey O’Brien’s enduring character while exhibiting teamwork, sportsmanship and leadership in both academics and athletics. The award is overseen by the Davey O’Brien Foundation, which is headquartered in Fort Worth, Texas, and has given away more than $890,000 in scholarships and university grants to help high school and college athletes transform leadership on the field into leadership in life. For more information, visit

The Davey O’Brien Award is a member of the National College Football Awards Association (NCFAA) which encompasses the most prestigious awards in college football. The 21 awards boast 678 years of tradition-selection excellence. Visit to learn more about our story.