Melchiori and Johnson Named to Ray Guy Award Watch List

Updated 7/10/2013

Augusta Sports Council Announces 2013 Ray Guy Award Preseason Watch List 

Kent State punter Anthony Melchiori and UMass punter Colter Johnson represent the MAC
Augusta, GA (July 10, 2013) - The Augusta Sports Council has announced the preseason watch list for the 2013 Ray Guy Award, which honors the nation’s top collegiate punter.
The 25 candidates on the list incorporate a broad spectrum of Football Bowl Subdivision (FBS) punters and representing the MAC are Kent State sophomore Anthony Melchiori and UMass senior Colter Johnson.
Melchiori appeared in all 14 games last season for Kent State and averaged 42.6 yards on 72 punts.  He had 16 boots of 50 yards or more and dropped 28 of his punts inside the 20 yard line.
Johnson was one of three UMass players to earn All-MAC honors being picked to the third team, after averaging 43.6 yards per punt last season to lead the MAC.  He finished his first campaign at UMass with 66 punts for 2,880 yards with 19 punts going 50-or-more yards. He showed his ability to put opposing offenses in tough situations by dropping 16 punts inside the Red Zone.
The number of eligible candidates for this season will grow when the award opens for nominations in September. The complete list of candidates will be released on October 25.  In early November, the Ray Guy Award committee will meet to select the ten semi-finalists, who will be announced on November 8. A national body of Football Bowl Subdivision (FBS) sports information directors, coaches, media representatives, and previous Ray Guy Award winners will then vote for the top three finalists, to be announced on November 25. After the finalists are named, the voting body will cast ballots again to select the nation’s top punter. The winner will be announced live during The Home Depot College Football Awards airing on ESPN on Thursday, December 12, 2013.
2013 Ray Guy Award Preseason Watch List
•         Steven Clark (Sr.), Auburn
•         Pat O’Donnell (Gr.), Miami (Fl.)
•         Darragh O’Neill (Jr.), Colorado
•         Will Monday (So.), Duke
•         Trent Tignor (Sr.), East Carolina
•         Kyle Christy (Jr.), Florida
•         Richie Leone (Sr.), Houston
•         Justin DuVernois (Jr.), Illinois
•         Kirby Van Der Kamp (Jr.), Iowa State
•         Anthony Melchiori (So.), Kent State
•         Landon Foster (So.), Kentucky
•         Tyler Williams (So.), Marshall
•         Colter Johnson (Sr.), Massachusetts
•         Tom Hornsey (Sr.), Memphis
•         Mike Sadler (Jr.), Michigan State
•         Ben Skaer (Sr.), New Mexico
•         Cayle Chapman-Brown (Sr.), New Mexico State
•         Thomas Hibbard (Jr.), North Carolina
•         Keith Kostol (Jr.), Oregon State
•         Cody Webster (Sr.), Purdue
•         Harrison Waid (Sr.), San Jose State
•         Mike Loftus (Jr.), SMU
•         Ethan Perry (So.), TCU
•         Hunter Mullins (Jr.), UAB
•         Michael Bowlin (Sr.), Washington State
Ray Guy Award
The Augusta Sports Council created the Ray Guy Award in 2000 to honor Thomson, Georgia native and College Football Hall of Fame inductee, Ray Guy. The Ray Guy Award winner is determined by a national voting body of sports writers, college coaches, sports information directors, and past Ray Guy Award winners. Among the statistics used to identify the winner is net punting average, number of times a punt is downed or kicked out of bounds inside the opponents 20-yard line, total yardage punted, average returned yardage, and percentage of punts not returned. The winner must display team leadership, self-discipline, and have a positive impact on the team’s success.
Augusta Sports Council
The Augusta Sports Council (ASC) is a non-profit organization dedicated to marketing the Augusta area as a destination for amateur sporting events. The ASC attracts, creates and supports dozens of sporting events and activities each year, generating a positive economic impact and enhancing the quality of life for residents of the greater Augusta community. To learn more, visit