Kekuewa and Kerin Named to Rimington Award Watch List

Updated 7/9/2013

Bowling Green's David Kekuewa and Toledo's Zac Kerin Named to Rimington Trophy Watch List

The Rimington Trophy committee has released its 2013 Fall Watch List, an award given annually to college football's top center.  The list includes 17 returning players from the 2012 Watch List. In all, there are 44 players on the Watch List. 
Representing the MAC are Bowling Green senior David 'Chief' Kekuewa and Toledo senior Zac Kerin.
Kekuewa, started in all 13 games at center last year for the Falcons, was a part of an offensive line that averaged 153.4 rushing yards per game and a unit that allowed just 15 sacks in 13 contests.  Bowling Green finished with an 8-5 overall record, 6-2 in the MAC, and received an invitation to play in the Military Bowl in Washington, D.C. against San Jose State.
Kerin is a three-year starter for the Rockets who earned second-team All-MAC honors in 2011 and first-team recognition in 2012.  Kerin started all 13 games for Toledo last season as the Rockets finished with a 9-4 overall record, 6-2 in the MAC, and received an invitation to play in the Famous Idaho Potato Bowl in Boise, Ida. against Utah State.
The following is a list of those named to the 2013 Rimington Trophy Fall Watch List. 
David Andrews, Georgia 6'2" 295 Junior
Russell Bodine, North Carolina 6'4" 310 Junior
Evan Boehm, MIssouri 6'3" 315 Sophomore
Jake Brendel, UCLA 6'5" 276 RS Sophomore
Betim Bujari, Rutgers 6'4" 290 Junior
Ben Clarke, Hawaii 6'3" 275 Sophomore
Sean Conway, Western Kentucky 6'3" 305 Senior
Dillon Day, Mississippi State 6'4" 295 RS Junior 
Reese Dismukes, Auburn 6'3" 290 RS Junior
Dominic Espinosa, Texas 6'4" 300 Junior
Dillon Farrell, New Mexico 6'5" 292 Senior
Jay Finch, Georgia Tech 6'3" 285 Senior
B.J. Finney, Kansas State 6'4" 303 Junior
Matt Galas, Nevada 6'1" 280 Junior
Bryce Giddens, Arkansas State 6'0" 225 Sophomore
Hroniss Grasu, Oregon 6'3" 297 Junior 
Gus Handler, Colorado 6'3" 290 Senior 
Jonotthan Harrison, Florida 6'4" 299 RS Junior
Andre Huval, Louisiana-Lafayette 6'1" 290 Senior 
Gabe Ikard, Oklahoma 6'3" 298 RS Senior 
Travis Jackson, Michigan State 6'3" 280 Junior
David Kekuewa, Bowling Green 6'2" 308 Senior
Ryan Kelly, Alabama 6'5" 290 RS Sophomore
Zac Kerin, Toledo 6'5" 300 Senior
Kody Koebensky, Arizona State 6'3" 290 Senior
Tyler Larsen, Utah State 6'4" 312 Senior
Taylor Lasecki, SMU 6'3" 288 Sophomore
Corey Linsley, Ohio State 6'3" 297 Junior
Macky MacPherson, Syracuse 6'2" 280 Senior
Mike Marboe, Idaho 6'2" 301 Junior
Shane McDermott, Miami 6'4" 296 Junior
Cole Pensick, Nebraska 6'2" 275 Senior
Ryan Powis, Army 6'0" 248 Junior
Bryce Redman, Houston 6'1" 285 Junior
Austin Reiter, USF 6'3" 273 RS Junior
Weston Richburg, Colorado State 6'4" 297 RS Senior
Isaac Seumalo, Oregon State 6'3" 302 Sophomore
James Stone, Tennessee 6'3" 300 Senior
Bryan Stork, Florida State 6'4" 312 RS Senior
Travis Swanson, Arkansas 6'5" 305 Senior
Evan Swindall, Mississippi 6'4" 295 Senior
Valerian Ume-Ezeoke, New Mexico State 6'2" 285 Junior
Brandon Vitabile, Northwestern 6'3" 300 RS Junior
Robert Waterman, UNLV 6'2" 290 Junior
The winner will be honored at Rimington Trophy Presentation banquet at the Rococo Theater in Lincoln, Nebraska on January 11, 2014.
The Rimington Trophy is presented annually to the Most Outstanding Center in NCAA Division I-A College Football. Since its inception, the Rimington Trophy has raised over $2.5 million for the cystic fibrosis community. The fourteen-year old award is overseen by the Boomer Esiason Foundation, which is committed to finding a cure for cystic fibrosis and has raised over $100 million for CF Research. 
Dave Rimington, the award's namesake, was a consensus first-team All-America center at the University of Nebraska in 1981 and 1982, during which time he became the John Outland Trophy's only double winner as the nation's finest college interior lineman.  For more on the Rimington Trophy and a list of past recipients, visit