Bayer and Fakes Named to the John Mackey Award Watch List

Updated 7/9/2013

2013 John Mackey Award Preseason Watch List Released

Bowling Green TE Alex Bayer and Ball State TE Zane Fakes represent the MAC
The John Mackey Award has released the 2013 John Mackey Award Preseason Watch List, given annually to the most outstanding collegiate tight end.  Representing the MAC on the Mackey Award Watch List are Bowling Green senior tight end Alex Bayer and Ball State senior tight end Zane Fakes.
Bayer, who appeared in all 13 games last season for the Falcons, collected 36 receptions for 410 yards for a 11.4 average along with three touchdowns.  Bayer was an All-MAC third team selection last season and helped Bowling Green to a 8-5 overall record, 6-2 in the MAC, as the Falcons received an invitation to the Military Bowl in Washington, D.C. against San Jose State.
Fakes, who was named to the 2012 All-Mid-American Conference First Team and the Academic All-MAC Team, started 10 games and played in all 13 for the Cardinals last season.  He tallied five touchdown catches a year ago, and has seven in his career.  Fakes managed a career high 11 catches for a career best 98 receiving yards vs. Northern Illinois last season.  He managed two touchdown catches in a game vs. Indiana last season and repeated the accomplishment vs. Ohio.
The award recipient is selected by vote of the John Mackey Award Selection Committee and the 2013 John Mackey recipient will be presented live on December 12, 2013 at The Home Depot College Football Awards Red Carpet Show: 6:00 p.m. ET on ESPNU. Other key dates include the announcement of the 2013 Mackey Midseason Watch List on October 14, 2013, the 2013 Mackey Semi-finalists on November 18, 2013 and the 2013 Mackey Finalists on November 25, 2013. All future announcements can be found at
NFL Hall of Fame member John Mackey is considered to be the best to have played the tight end position.  A tight end by whom all others are measured, Mackey was a role model on and off the field as demonstrated by his Super Bowl Championship, his commitment to community and his place in history as the first President of the NFLPA. 
The John Mackey Award presented since 2000, lists twelve NFL players as alumni: two-time Super Bowl Champion Daniel Graham ('01), 2006 Super Bowl Champion Dallas Clark ('02), Kellen Winslow II ('03) of the New York Jets, two-time Super Bowl Champion Heath Miller ('04) of the Pittsburgh Steelers, Marcedes Lewis ('05) of the Jacksonville Jaguars, 2008 Super Bowl Champion Matt Spaeth ('06) of the of the Pittsburgh Steelers, Fred Davis ('07) of the Washington Redskins, Chase Coffman ('08) of the Atlanta Falcons, Aaron Hernandez ('09), D.J. Williams ('10) of the Green Bay Packers,  Dwayne Allen (’11) of the Indianapolis Colts and the 2012 John Mackey Award recipient Tyler Eifert of the Cincinnati Bengals.  
2013 John Mackey Award Preseason Watch List
Rory Anderson S Carolina JR
Alex Bayer Bowling Green SR
Ted Bolser Indiana SR
Kyle Carter Penn St SO
Gerald Christian Louisville JR
Chris Coyle Arizona St SR
Nexon  Dorvilus Florida Atlantic SR
Eric Ebron N Carolina JR
Zane Fakes Ball State SR
C.J. Fiedorowicz Iowa SR
Kaneakua  Friel BYU SR
Devin Funchess Michigan SO
Crockett Gillmore Colorado St SR
Xavier Grimble USC JR
Jeff Heuerman Ohio St JR
Gabe Holmes Purdue SR
Gator Hoskins Marshall SR
Marcel Jensen Fresno St SR
Malcolm Johnson Mississippi St JR
Luke Kaumatule Stanford SO
Ben Koyack Notre Dame JR
Gabe Linehan Boise St SR
Colt Lyerla Oregon JR
Arthur Lynch Georgia SR
Jake McGee Virginia JR
Jake Murphy Utah JR
Jordan Najvar Baylor SR
Troy Niklas Notre Dame JR
Nick O’Leary Florida St JR
Jacob Pedersen Wisconsin SR
Austin Seferian-Jenkins Washington JR
Randall Telfer USC JR
C.J. Uzomah Auburn JR
Brian Vogler Alabama JR
Beckett Wales Syracuse SR
Clive Walford Miami Fl JR
Asa Watson NC State SR