Kent State Captures Women's Outdoor Track and Field Championship Title!

Updated 5/11/2013

Courtesy of Kent State Sports Information Department

Complete Results 

Women's Team Standings 
1) Kent State 169
2) Akron 119
3) Buffalo 109.50
4) Miami (Ohio) 105
5) Eastern Michigan 82.50
6) Western Michigan 72
7) Toledo 49
8) Central Michigan 41.50
9) Ohio 33.50
10) Bowling Green 23
11) Northern Illinois 11
12) Ball State 4

AKRON, Ohio – Freshman Dior Delophont (Nancy, France) won two events on the final day (May 11) of the 2013 Mid-American Conference Outdoor Track and Field Championships as the Kent State women's team won its fourth straight team title with 169 points at the University of Akron's Lee R. Jackson Track and Field Complex.  The host Zips finished second with 119, while Buffalo was third with 109.5 in the 12-team field.
The Golden Flashes were runners-up on the men's side for the third straight season with 183 points as freshmanWayne Gordon (Amherst, N.Y.) led the way with a pair of individual titles on the final day.  Akron won the team title with 195 and Eastern Michigan finished third with 142.5 in the six-team field.
Kent State director of track and field Bill Lawson was named MAC Women's Coach of the Year for the fourth straight season.
Delophont won the triple jump with a leap of 41 feet, 8 inches, and the high jump at 5-10.5.  The two wins give Delophont a combined five MAC titles this season (indoor and outdoor).  
Delophont was named the women's most valuable performer.
Freshman Hannah Fleck (Celina, Ohio) won gold in the 1,500-meter run in four minutes, 24.22 seconds.  Fleck also placed seventh in the 800 in 2:13.29, while senior Melinda Sawnor (Rochester, N.Y.) finished third in 2:09.02.
The triple jump was a key event for the women as senior Keri Dantley (Imperial, Pa.) finished second at 40-6.25 and sophomoreRoseanne Erickson (Alexandria, Minn.) placed fourth at 39-3.
The Flashes also picked up major points in the discus as freshman Danniel Thomas (Shrewsbery, Jamaica) placed second at 172-8 and junior Joh'vonnie Mosley (Youngstown, Ohio) finished fourth at 163-5.
Sophomore Ann Marie Duffus (North Clarendon, Jamaica) added key points with her second-place finish in the 100 hurdles in 13.69 seconds.
The Flashes also received solid performances in the sprints as junior Shanequa Williams (Akron, Ohio) placed sixth in the 400 in 54.97 and sixth in the 200 in 24.30.  Sophomore Chanitta Westbrooks (Cleveland, Ohio) was eighth in the 100 in 12.02 and fourth in the 200 in 24.06.
Gordon swept the sprints on the men's side, winning the 100 in 10.48 and the 200 in 21.00.  The Flashes also had senior Brandon Bailey(Pittsburgh, Pa.) win the 400 in 47.47 and place second in the 200 in 21.53.
Senior Michael Heller (Stow, Ohio), who won the 10,000 title on Day 1, added the 5,000 crown in 14:39.72.  Heller was named the men's most outstanding track athlete.
The Flashes also had an individual champ in sophomore Jacob Swords (Akron, Ohio) in the 800 in 1:49.93.  Swords then joined Bailey, junior Laron Brown (Dayton, Ohio) and sophomore Miles Dunlap (McDonald, Ohio) to win the 4x400 relay in 3:11.11.
Kent State also received key points in the discus as sophomore Matthias Tayala (McDonald, Ohio), the hammer throw champ on Day 2, placed second at 176-10 and freshman Reggie Jagers (Cleveland, Ohio) was third at 168-1.
Individual Award Winners: 
Women's MVP - Dior Delophont, Kent State 

Most Outstanding Track Performance
Layne Baggett, Miami 
Most Outstanding Field Performance:
Women’s – Brooke Pleger, Bowling Green 
Coach of the Year:
Women’s – Bill Lawson, Kent State 
Women’s All-MAC 1st Team
Alexis Cook, Akron (Discus)
Shauniece Steele, Akron (400m)
Brooke Pleger, BGSU (Hammer)
Meghan Manley, Buffalo (800m)
Emma Siuciak, Buffalo (Heptathlon)
Alysha Newman, EMU (Pole Vault)
Asia Rawls, EMU (400m Hurdles)
Victoria Voronko, EMU (Steeplechase)
Dior Delophont, KSU (High Jump and Triple Jump)
Roseanne Erickson, KSU (Long Jump)
Hannah Fleck, KSU (1500)
Joh’vonnie Mosley, KSU (Shot Put)
Sara Oczypok, KSU (Javelin)
Kala Allen, Miami (4x100 and 4x400)
Layne Baggett, Miami (100m Hurdles, 4x100)
Diona Graves, Miami (100m, 200m, 4x100 and 4x400)
Anna Lamb, Miami (10,000)
Charlotte Myers, Miami (4x100 and 4x400)
Katie Scannell, Miami (4x400)
Juli Accurso, Ohio (5,000)
Women’s All-MAC 2nd Team
Ariar Beaumont-Courteau, Akron (Pole Vault)
Rachel Christian, Akron (100m, 200m)
Brittany Funk, Akron (Hammer)
Skyler Willis, Akron (400m Hurdles)
Crystal Graham, Buffalo (4x100 and 4x400)
Donna Jeanty, Buffalo (4x400)
Camaria Long, Buffalo (4x400)
Jamiee McClary, Buffalo (4x100)
Katherine Sanders, Buffalo (Steeplechase)
Brooklyn Ventura, Buffalo (4x100)
Malayah White, Buffalo (4x100)
Tatijana Jacobson, EMU (High Jump)
Cheryl Carlisle, KSU (Javelin) 
Keri Dantley, KSU (Triple Jump)
Ann Marie Duffus, KSU (100m Hurdles, Long Jump)
Danniel Thomas, KSU (Discus)
Melissa Thompson, Ohio (1500)
Brooke Tullis, Toledo (10,000)
Andrea Arnold, WMU (400m)
Aisha Hodge, WMU (800m)
Kathryn Pickett, WMU (Heptathlon)