Western Michigan Wins MAC Men's Tennis Championship

Updated 4/27/2013

Western Michigan Defeats Northern Illinois, 4-3, To Win MAC Men's Tennis Championship

DEKALB, Ill. - The Western Michigan men's tennis team rallied from a point down to win their second straight Mid-American Conference tournament championship, defeating the hosting Northern Illinois Huskies 4-3 at Huskie Tennis Courts.  With the win, the Broncos improve to 19-9 on the season and will advance to the 2013 NCAA Tournament; the Broncos will learn their opponent during the selection show on Tuesday, April 30th at 5 p.m.

The tournament title is the 10th in the history of the Broncos, a feat all the more impressive when one remembers that the conference did not implement a conference tournament until the 1999 season.  The Broncos have won 10 of the 15 conference tournaments in that span.  The conference championship is the 17th in the career of head coach Dave Morin, currently in his 17th season as head coach of the Broncos, and is the 32nd overall conference tital in program history (counting both regular season and tournament titles).
Senior Ross VanderPloeg clinched the match victory for the Broncos with a win in the No. 2 doubles match, surviving a first-set loss to Frederic Cadieux to take the second 6-4.  VanderPloeg cruised past Cadieux in the third set, serving it out to clinch the 5-7, 6-4, 6-1 win.
The Broncos trailed the overall match 1-0 after the doubles session, which the Huskies controlled with 8-6 wins in the Nos. 2 and 3 matches.  Andrew Cahn put the Broncos on the board in the singles session with an impressive win at No. 5 singles, beating Max Phillips 6-3, 6-1 to even the odds.  NIU responded with a win at No. 3 singles, but Pablo Mora tied the match again with a 6-3, 7-5 win over Simon Formont at No. 6 singles.  Ruben Greiner went on to tie the match at 3-3 with a tightly contested win over Jovan Zeljkovic at No. 4 singles; Greiner came back from a second set tiebreaker loss to shut the door on Zeljkovic, downing him 6-3, 6-7 (6), 6-3 to set the stage for VanderPloeg's win.
#2 Western Michigan 4, #4 Northern Illinois 3
Huskie Tennis Courts
DeKalb, Ill.
No. 1: Axel Lagerlof (NIU) def. Nadin Indre (WMU) 4-6, 6-2, 6-4
No. 2: Ross VanderPloeg (WMU) vs. Frederic Cadieux (NIU) 5-7, 6-4, 6-1
No. 3: Dor Amir (NIU) def. Aaron Wong (WMU) 6-2, 6-4
No. 4: Ruben Greiner (WMU) def. Jovan Zeljkovic (NIU) 6-3, 6-7 (8-6), 6-3
No. 5: Andrew Cahn (WMU) def. Max Phillips (NIU) 6-3, 6-1
No. 6: Pablo Mora (WMU) def. Simon Formont (NIU) 6-3, 7-5
No. 1: Frederic Cadieux/Max Phillips (NIU) vs. Nadin Indre/Ruben Greiner (WMU) 7-6 unfinished
No. 2: Axel Lagerlof/Jovan Zeljkovic (NIU) def. Jimmy Beckwith/Aaron Wong (WMU) 8-6
No. 3: Dor Amir/Simon Formont (NIU) def. Ross VanderPloeg/Andrew Cahn (WMU) 8-6
Singles Order of Finish: 5,3,6,1,4,2 Doubles: 3,2,1 (unfinished) 
2013 MAC Men’s Tennis Champion: Western Michigan
2013 All-Tournament Team
Pat Elliott, Ball State
Vusa Hove, Buffalo
Dor Amir, NIU
Axel Lagerlof, NIU
Andrew Cahn, WMU
Ross VanderPloeg, WMU
Tournament Most Outstanding Player: Ross VanderPloeg, WMU