MAC Announces Women's Basketball Academic All-MAC Team

Updated 4/22/2013


CLEVELAND, Ohio – The Mid-American Conference put a wrap on the 2012-13 women’s basketball season, with the final awards announcement of the season with the recognition of the 12-member Academic All-MAC team as voted by the Faculty Athletic Representatives of the 12 MAC institutions  
The divisional champions, Akron from the East and Toledo from the West, each led the way placing three student-athletes to the Academic All-MAC team.  For Akron it was Sina King, Hanna Luburgh and MAC Player of the Year Rachel Tecca.  For the Rockets Yolanda Richardson, Naama Shafir and Inma Zanoguera received the honors.  Making up the other half of the Academic All-MAC Team was Chrissy Steffen and Jill Stein of Bowling Green, Trisha Krewson of Kent State, Courtney Osborn of Miami, Amanda Corral of Northern Illinois and Mariah Byard of Ohio.  
Rachel Tecca and Naama Shafir were both unanimous choices receiving all 11 of the possible votes from the respective voting institutions.
The Academic All-MAC honor is for a student-athlete who has excelled in athletics and academics. To qualify, a student-athlete must have at least a 3.20 cumulative GPA and have participated in at least 50 percent of the contests for that particular sport. First-year students and junior college transfers in their first year of residence are not eligible for the award. 
2012-13 Women's Basketball Academic All-MAC Team
Sina King, Akron
Hanna Luburgh, Akron
Rachel Tecca, Akron *
Chrissy Steffen, Bowling Green
Jill Stein, Bowling Green
Trisha Krewson, Kent State
Courtney Osborn, Miami
Amanda Corral, Northern Illinois
Mariah Byard, Ohio
Yolanda Richardson, Toledo
Naama Shafir, Toledo *
Inma Zanoguera, Toledo
* Indicated unanimous choice
Honorable Mention
Taylor Ruper, Akron
Carly Young, Akron
Shelbie Justice, Ball State
Jillian Halfhill, Bowling Green
Danielle Havel, Bowling Green
Deborah Hoekstra, Bowling Green
Allison Papenfuss, Bowling Green
Nicki Hopkins, Buffalo
Kristen Sharkey, Buffalo
Niki DiGuilio, Central Michigan
Chelsea Hite, Eastern Michigan
Tamzin Barriolhet, Kent State
Jamie Hutcheson, Kent State
Melanee Stubbs, Kent State
Courtney Larson, Miami
Haley Robertson, Miami
Hannah Robertson, Miami
Kelsey Simon, Miami
Shaakira Haywood, Northern Illinois
Ashley Sneed, Northern Illinois
Jenna Thorp, Northern Illinois
Riley McCormick, Toledo
Michelle O’Brien, Western Michigan