MAC Announces Men's Swimming and Diving Academic All-MAC Team

Updated 4/16/2013


CLEVELAND, Ohio – The Mid-American Conference announced Tuesday the 2013 Men’s Swimming and Diving Academic All-MAC Team, as voted by the faculty athletic representatives from the member MAC institutions.  
A total of 18 student-athletes were named to the Academic All-MAC team.  Eastern Michigan placed six student-athletes, including this season’s First Team All-MAC honoree Brian Moore and second teamer Andrew Saunders. Miami and Missouri State each placed three on the academic team, inclusive of second team honorees Chris Carpenter and Matthew Wilson of Missouri State. 
Southern Illinois placed Calvin Kolar, and Kegan Skelton, both were second team honorees. Buffalo also placed two student athletes, while Ball State and Evansville each had one honoree represented on the academic team. 
The Academic All-MAC honor is for a student-athlete who has excelled in athletics and academics.  To qualify, a student-athlete must have at least a 3.20 cumulative GPA and have participated in at least 50 percent of the contests for that particular sport.  First-year students and junior college transfers in their first year of residence are not eligible for the award. Outstanding academic and athletic accomplishments for the current season are only considered.
Men’s Swimming and Diving Academic All-MAC Team
Drew Tharp, Ball State                                                                     
Eric Forrester, Buffalo 
John Nord, Buffalo    
Tom Coates, Eastern Michigan                    
Gus Everson, Eastern Michigan                   
Oded Ivry, Eastern Michigan            
Dakoda Johnson, Eastern Michigan            
Brian Moore, Eastern Michigan 
Andrew Saunders, Eastern Michigan          
Kyle Tiemann, Evansville 
Michael Cavanaugh, Miami 
Ian Joyce, Miami                                            
Alex Reinhardt, Miami 
Chris Carpenter, Missouri State 
Isaac McKnight, Missouri State 
Matthew Wilson, Missouri State 
Calvin Kolar, Southern Illinois                                                                                                         
Kegan Skelton, Southern Illinois                       
Honorable Mention 
Andy Lamb, Ball State
Michael Weber, Ball State
Travis Bohn, Buffalo 
Paul Garman, Buffalo
Tyler Capan, Eastern Michigan
 Frankie DeMaria Jr., Eastern Michigan
Ricky Linder, Eastern Michigan
Michael Kinross, Eastern Michigan
Aaron Lawson, Eastern Michigan
Sage Stephens, Eastern Michigan
Mallet Reid, Evansville
Sam Flessner, Miami
Maxwell Cain, Miami
Sam Crockett, Miami
Michael Heavilon, Miami
Will Olson, Miami
Jonathan Profitt, Miami
 Jared Roberts, Missouri State
 Aaron Dennis, Missouri State
Daan Jansen, Missouri State
Michal Bulak, Missouri State
Caleb Coots, Southern Illinois
Jacob Lucheon, Southern Illinois
Jeff Chen, Southern Illinois
Thomas Defay, Southern Illinois
Andrew Spencer, Southern Illinois 
Matt Frey, Southern Illinois
Shaun Wolfe, Southern Illinois
Csaba Gercsak, Southern Illinois