MAC Announces 2013 Indoor Track and Field Academic All-MAC

Updated 4/10/2013

CLEVELAND, Ohio – The Mid-American Conference announced the 2013 Men’s and Women’s Indoor Track and Field Academic All-MAC Teams today, as voted by the faculty athletic representatives from the member MAC institutions.  

On the women’s side 33 student-athletes were honored. Kent State topped the list with six student-athletes named to the Academic All-MAC Team. Amongst those were Indoor Track and Field All-MAC First Team members Erica Hutson and Jackie Leppelmeier and second team members Keri Dantley and Roseanne Erickson. Miami tallied five student-athletes with academic honors. 
Western Michigan placed four student-athletes on the team, including first team honoree Aisha Hodge and second team honoree Lindsey Hufnagel. Akron, Eastern Michigan and Ohio each had three student-athletes honored, this included All-MAC first teamers Juli Acurso and Kiley Mathews of Ohio. Bowling Green, Buffalo and Northern Illinois each had two students honored, including 2013 Indoor Outstanding Field Performer, Shante’ White from Buffalo. Also, receiving the academic recognition were lone winners MaryKate Mellen from Ball State and first team honoree, Machenzie Chojnacky of Toledo.   
For the men, 21 student-athletes were named to the Academic All-MAC team. Eastern Michigan highlighted the team with eight members including first team honoree Ian Hancke and the 2013 Most Outstanding Track Performer, Grzegorz Kalinowski.  
Kent State placed 5 individuals on the team including second team honoree Miles Dunlap. Amongst Buffalo’s four honorees that were given the academic honor were second-teamers Chris Reape and Austin Price. Akron placed three student-athletes, in them was first-teamer Alex McCune. Picking up a lone spot was Central Michigan placing second teamer, Anderson Lee. 
The Academic All-MAC honor is for a student-athlete who has excelled in athletics and academics.  To qualify, a student-athlete must have at least a 3.20 cumulative GPA and have participated in at least 50 percent of the contests for that particular sport.  First-year students and junior college transfers in their first year of residence are not eligible for the award. Outstanding academic and athletic accomplishments for the current season are only considered.
Women’s Track & Field Academic All-MAC Team
Ariane Beaumont-Courteau, Akron
Claire Lucas, Akron
Gabriela Szkolnicka, Akron
MaryKate Mellen, Ball State
Brooke Pleger, Bowling Green
bby Koch, Bowling Green
Shante’ White, Buffalo
Caitlin Curry, Buffalo
Maddie Ribant, Central Michigan
Victoria Voronko, Eastern Michigan
Tatijana Jacobson, Eastern Michigan
Rachel Quaintance, Eastern Michigan
Keri Dantley, Kent State
Roseanne Erickson, Kent State
Paige Foster, Kent State
Erica Hutson, Kent State
Jackie Leppelmeier, Kent State
Melina Sawnor, Kent State
Alex Chitwood, Miami
Samantha Gable, Miami
Erica Howes, Miami
Anna Lamb, Miami
Kori Tatman, Miami
Jenelle McCalla, Northern Illinois
Juliane Totzke, Northern Illinois
Juli Accurso, Ohio
Kiley Mathews, Ohio 
Melissa Thompson, Ohio
Machenzie Chojnacky, Toledo
Iris Campbell, Western Michigan
Cara Cremeans, Western Michigan
Aisha Hodge, Western Michigan
Lindsey Hufnagel, Western Michigan


Men’s Track & Field Academic All-MAC Team
Kyle Cochrun, Akron
Bjorn Johansson, Akron
Alex McCune, Akron
Zach Ahart, Buffalo
Doug Hannon, Buffalo
Austin Price, Buffalo
Chris Reape, Buffalo
Anderson Lee, Central Michigan
Cody Chabola, Eastern Michigan
Harry Dixon, Eastern Michigan
Josh George, Eastern Michigan
Ian Hancke, Eastern Michigan
Solomon Ijah, Eastern Michigan
Grzegorz Kalinowski, Eastern Michigan
Jay Saunders, Eastern Michigan
Keith Williams, Eastern Michigan
Miles Dunlap, Kent State
Andrew Goodwin, Kent State
Tyler Jones, Kent State
Justin Bailey, Kent State
Ryan Thomas, Kent State
Honorable Mention 
Alexandra Wood, Akron 
Haley Austin, Ball State
Andrea Alt, Bowling Green 
Jasmine Redman, Bowling Green
Maria Meredith, Bowling Green 
Natalie Sommerville, Bowling Green
Allison Weimer, Bowling Green 
Krystin Reiser, Bowling Green 
Chrisitina Clarkin, Buffalo
Samantha Beim, Buffalo
Jackie Burns, Buffalo
Gabrielle Leo, Buffalo
Katie Sanders, Buffalo
Jenna Van Dusen, Buffalo 
Kristy Woods, Buffalo 
Leah Wightman, Buffalo 
Aimeee Hopkins, Buffalo 
Kaytlin Mack, Buffalo
Kelly Truppo, Buffalo
Bridget Doughty, Central Michigan 
Lydia Gomez-Diaz, Eastern Michigan
 Tiara Oates, Eastern Michigan 
Meghan Powers, Eastern Michigan
Brooke Sciullo, Eastern Michigan
Cara Smock, Eastern Michigan 
Adrienne Waisner, Eastern Michigan
Kate Wolanin, Eastern Michigan
Katie Engerer, Kent State
Raquel Smiddy, Kent State
Tori Meyer, Kent State
Brigid Callaghan, Kent State
Elizabeth Clippinger, Kent State
Diani Dumitrescu, Kent State 
Corrine Gasaway, Kent State 
Domenica Rossi, Kent State 
Jess Hoover, Miami 
Taylor Wickware, Miami 
Monica Fischer, Miami
Ashley Zaper, Miami
Elisa Frazier, Miami
Melissa Girgis, Miami
Amanda Hancock, Miami
Xerina Hughey, Miami
Charlotte Myers, Miami
Samantha Vaughan, Miami 
Jamie Burr, Northern Illinois
Michaela Dwyer, Northern Illinois
Erica Miller, Northern Illinois
Chanda Cuckler, Ohio
Hayley Stegemiller, Ohio 
Kayla Scott, Ohio
Morgan Reichert, Ohio
Kaylin Beliar, Toledo 
Andrea Arnold, Western Michigan 
Rachel Whitley, Western Michigan
Levi Selvig, Eastern Michigan
Andrew Wentz, Eastern Michigan
Dylan Stites, Eastern Michigan