Eastern Michigan Claims 31st MAC Swimming and Diving Title

Updated 3/9/2013

Courtesy of Eastern Michigan Sports Information Department

Final Team Scores
1. Eastern Michigan – 772
2. Missouri State – 766
3. Buffalo – 698.5
4. Miami – 419.5
5. Southern Illinois – 391
6. Ball State 186
7. Evansville - 162
CARBONDALE, Ill.  – The Eastern Michigan University men's swimming and diving team won its 31st Mid-American Conference Championship Saturday, March 9, at Southern Illinois University. EMU won with 772 points, while Missouri State finished just six points behind the Eagles.
Eastern was close to sweeping the final awards as Jacob Hanson earned both the Outstanding Senior and Swimmer awards, while Jeffrey Craig took Outstanding Diver and Buck Smith earned the Diving Coach of the Year award.  Jeffrey Craig, Mike Fisher, Krzystof Gilski, Andrew Henry, Jacob Hanson, Brian Moore and Mike Swain each earned first team All-MAC accolades, while Erik Gissen and Andrew Saunders earned second team honors.
In the final day of competition the Eagles used a first place finish by Hanson in the 200-backstroke in 1:42.07. The time was a new pool and championship record. Fisher also took home a pool and championship record in the 200-breaststroke, completing the distance in 1:58.82, while Gilski's 1:47.60 earned a first in the 200-butterfly.
Craig swept the diving events by scoring a 406.10 in the three-meter dive, giving him first in both the one and three-meter dives at the 2013 MAC Championships. His prelim dive of 416.60 was good for a new pool record. Saunders took third in the three-meter dive with a 378.95.
2013 Swimming & Diving All-MAC 1st Team
Mike Dugan, Buffalo
Matt Hogan, Buffalo
Matt Schwippert, Buffalo
Jeff Craig, Eastern Michigan
Mike Fisher, Eastern Michigan
Krzysztof Gilski, Eastern Michigan
Andrew Henry, Eastern Michigan
Jacob Hanson, Eastern Michigan
Brian Moore, Eastern Michigan
Mike Swain, Eastern Michigan
Miguel Davila, Missouri State
Uvis Kalnins, Missouri State
Paul Le, Missouri State
Caleb Schuermann, Missouri State
Till Pallmann, Southern Illinois

2013 Men’s Swimming & Diving All-MAC 2nd Team
Joe Morris, Ball State
Eric Culver, Buffalo
Josh Meints, Buffalo
Cory Zorsch, Buffalo
Billy Patrum, Buffalo
Erik Gissen, Eastern Michigan
Andrew Saunders, Eastern Michigan
Joe Baumgartner, Miami
Vitalii Baryshok, Missouri State
Chris Carpenter, Missouri State
Jack Snow, Missouri State
Isaac Springer, Missouri State
Matthew Wilson, Missouri State
Calvin Kolar, Southern Illinois
Kegan Skelton, Southern Illinois

Outstanding Senior - Jacob Hanson, Eastern Michigan
Outstanding Diver - Jeff Craig, Eastern Michigan
Diving Coach of the Year – Loren “Buck” Smith, Eastern Michigan
Outstanding Swimmer - Jacob Hanson, Eastern Michigan
Swimming Coach of the Year – Dave Collins, Missouri State