Kent State Claims Women's Indoor Track and Field Championship Title

Updated 2/23/2013

Courtesy of Kent State Sports Information Department

Complete Results 
Individual Results 

YPSILANTI, Mich.— History was made Saturday as the Kent State women's indoor track and field team scored a record 175 points to take first place at Mid-American Conference Championships, hosted by Eastern Michigan University. Kent State's men's team finished in third place.
This is the program's fourth conference title in program history as Golden Flashes repeated as MAC champions for the first time in program history. Considered the favorite heading into the weekend, Kent State had one of the most dominant performances in meet history. The Flashes scored 175 points to shatter the previous record of 145 by Ball State in 1996 and 2001. Runner-up Eastern Michigan totaled just 94 points, giving the Flashes a conference record 81-point margin of victory. Only Eastern Michigan's men's team has won the conference meet by a larger margin (81.5 in 2001). The previous record on the women's side was 33.17 points by Eastern Michigan in 2000.
Head coach Bill Lawson was named the MAC Women's Coach of the Year for the second consecutive year. Lawson has guided the Golden Flashes to three of the last four indoor titles and six of the last seven track and field titles overall.
Freshman Dior Delophont (Nancy, France) was named Women's Most Valuable Performer after sweeping the jumps in her first conference meet. After winning the long jump on Friday, Delophont began the second day of competition by clearing 5'-11.25" to win the high jump. She then won the triple jump by more than a foot with a leap of 42'-06.25". 
For the second consecutive year, junior Shanequa Williams (Akron, Ohio) was named Women's Most Outstanding Track Performer. Williams clocked a Kent State record 23.89 to successfully defend her conference crown in the 200-meter dash. She also ran a 54.44 to win the 400-meter dash and anchored the 4x400 meter relay team that ran a 3:44.35 to take first place.
The women clocked program records in a pair of sprints in addition to Williams' run in the 200, Junior Katie Reiser (Wayne, Ohio) won the 60-meter dash with a time of 7.46 to break her own school record, which she set a week ago. Junior Ann Marie Duffus (North Clarendon, Jamaica) finished second in the 60-meter hurdles with a time of 8.38, tying her own school record.
The team of Taylor Farquhar (Belmont, Ontario), Erica Hutson (Akron, Ohio), Lynnese Beyan (Upper Darby, Pa.), and Williams won a competitive 4x400 relay with the fourth-best time in school history (3:44.35) to round out the first place finishes on the women's side.
Sophomore Roseanne Erickson (Alexandria, Minn.) scored 18 points for the Flashes, which was tied for third-most on the women's side. On Saturday, Erickson took third place in the 200-meter dash (24.56) and fifth place in the 60-meter dash (7.61). She was runner-up in the long jump (19'-08.25") on the first day of competition.
Final Women's Team Standings
1. Kent State – 175
2. Eastern Michigan – 94
3. Western Michigan – 73
4. Akron – 71
5. Toledo – 65
6. Buffalo – 51
7. Ohio – 38
8. Miami – 35.5
9. Central Michigan – 25.5
10. Northern Illinois – 16
11. Bowling Green – 12
12. Ball State – 7
MVP (Women): Dior Delophont, Kent State
Most Outstanding Track Performer (Women): Shanequa Williams, Kent State
Most Outstanding Field Performer (Women): Shante' White, Buffalo
Coach of the Year (Women): Bill Lawson, Kent State

Women’s All-MAC First Team
Brittany Cheese, Akron (Pentathlon)
Shante’ White, Buffalo (Weight)
Vanessa Clerveaux, EMU (60m Hurdles)
Alysha Newman, EMU (Pole Vault)
Katie Reiser, KSU (60m)
Shanequa Williams, KSU (200m, 400m, 4x400)
Taylor Farquhar, KSU (4x400)
Lynnese Beyan, KSU (4x400)
Erica Hutson, KSU (4x400)
Dior Delophont, KSU (High Jump, Long Jump, Triple Jump)
Jackie Leppelmeier, KSU, (Shot Put)
Melissa Thompson, Ohio (Mile, DMR)
Juli Accurso, Ohio (3000m, DMR)
Kiley Mathews, Ohio (DMR)
Danielle Winningham, Ohio (DMR)
Mackenzie Chojnacky, Toledo (5000m)
Aisha Hodge, WMU (800m)

Women’s All-MAC Second Team
Alexis Cooks, Akron (Weight)
Ariane Beaumont-Courteau, Akron (Pole Vault)
Meghan Manley, Buffalo (800m)
Asia Rawls, EMU (400m, DMR, 4x400)
Victoria Voronko, EMU (Mile, 3000m, DMR)
Danielle Clark, EMU (4x400)
Morgan Yeadon, EMU (4x400)
Latipha Cross, EMU (4x400)
Morgan Churchwell, EMU (DMR)
Marina Manjon-Rivadulla, EMU (DMR)
Tatijana Jacobson, EMU (High Jump)
Ann Marie Duffus, KSU (60m Hurdles)
Roseanne Erickson, KSU (Long Jump)
Keri Dantley, KSU (Triple Jump)
Joh’vonnie Mosley, KSU (Shot Put)
Janay Mitchell, NIU (60m)
Brooke Tullis, Toledo (5000m)
Rebecca Hall, WMU (200m)
Lindsey Hufnagel, WMU (Pentathlon)