Three MAC Programs Selected For Ramada Worldwide BracketBusters TV Games

Updated 2/4/2013


Cleveland, Ohio – The Akron Zips, Ohio Bobcats and Western Michigan Broncos have been chosen to participate in nationally televised games as part of the Ramada Worldwide BracketBusters event (Feb. 22 & 23). The 13 televised match-ups were announced on the ESPNU BracketBusters Selection Show on Monday night. 

Akron (17-4, 8-0 MAC) will welcome North Dakota State (18-5, 9-2 Summit) to the J.A.R. on Friday, February 22nd for a 7 p.m. game that will air live on ESPN2. 
On Saturday, February 23rd Western Michigan (14-7, 6-2 MAC) will host Pacific (13-8, 7-2 Big West) at 2 p.m. on ESPN3, while Ohio (15-6, 6-1 MAC) will travel to Nashville, Tenn. to take on Belmont (19-4, 10-0 Ohio Valley) at 10 p.m. on ESPN2. 
This marks the sixth time the Zips have been selected for a television game, while the Bobcats will be playing in their fifth nationally televised contest. Western Michigan will be playing their third nationally televised game as part of BracketBuster weekend. 
In addition, nine non-televised non-conference matchups involving MAC programs were also announced and will be played on Saturday, February 23rd.
A charter member of the BracketBusters event (11th season), the MAC is one of only four conferences that has seen one of its participating teams reach the Regional Final (Kent State in 2002; George Mason reached Final Four in 2006, Davidson in 2008; Butler reached National Championship in 2010 & 2011). 
Last year, three Mid-American Conference teams (Akron, Buffalo & Ohio) were featured in ESPN BracketBusters-branded games (contests aired on the TV package). 
For more information on the event, please visit
2013 Ramada Worldwide BracketBusters Matchups 
Friday, February 22nd
*North Dakota State at Akron, 7 p.m. (ESPN2)

Saturday, February 23rd
*Pacific at Western Michigan, 2 p.m. (ESPN3)
*Ohio at Belmont, 10 p.m. (ESPN2)
Central Michigan at Youngstown State
Kent State at Loyola-Chicago
McNeese State at Toledo
Missouri State at Eastern Michigan
Miami at Southern Illinois 
Manhattan at Buffalo
Ball State at Southeast Missouri State
Eastern Illinois at Northern Illinois
Bowling Green at IPFW

*BracketBusters Television Game