MAC Announces 2012 Men's Soccer Academic All-MAC Team

Updated 1/7/2013


CLEVELAND, Ohio – The Mid-American Conference announced its 2012 Men’s Soccer Academic All-MAC team Monday, as voted on by faculty athletic representatives at MAC institutions. A total of 14 student-athletes were named to the team. 
Akron, the 2012 MAC regular season and tournament champions placed five student-athletes on the team, including repeat winners Chad Barson, Scott Caldwell and David Meves. Joining their teammates were junior Reinaldo Brenes and sophomore Wil Trapp, who earned the honors for the first time in their careers. Western Michigan was also well-represented with four selections in Oliver Mayer, Yllson Asani, Jason Grant and Darren Jones who each won the award for the first time in their careers. 
Rounding out the 2012 Academic All-MAC team were Zach Lemke of Bowling Green, Tyler Bailey of Hartwick, Andy Bevin of West Virginia, along with Mike Mascitti and Pat Sloan of Northern Illinois. 
The Academic All-MAC honor is for a student-athlete who has excelled in athletics and academics. To qualify, a student-athlete must have a least a 3.20 cumulative GPA and have participated in at least 50% of the contests for that particular sport. First year student and junior college transfers in their first year of residence are not eligible for the award.
2012 Men’s Soccer Academic All-MAC Team
Chad Barson, Akron
Reinaldo Brenes, Akron
Scott Caldwell, Akron
David Meves, Akron
Wil Trap, Akron
Zach Lemke, Bowling Green
Tyler Bailey, Hartwick
Mike Mascitti, Northern Illinois 
Pat Sloan, Northern Illinois 
Andy Bevin, West Virginia 
Oliver Mayer, Western Michigan
Yllson Asani, Western Michigan
Jason Grant, Western Michigan
Darren Jones, Western Michigan 
2012 Men’s Soccer Academic Honorable Mention
Michael Wiest, Bowling Green
Jason Keefe, Hartwick
Dusty Page, Northern Illinois
Ryan Comiskey, Bowling Green
Matt Griesinger, Bowling Green
Brandon Silva, Bowling Green
Lukas Fedler, Buffalo
Risto Laettli, Buffalo
Rio Dhat, Hartwick
Mateo Munarriz, Hartwick
Nathaniel Horton, Hartwick
Paul Hogan, Northern Illinois
Jayson LeSeth, Northern Illinois
Craig Stephens, West Virginia