2011-12 NSCAA Team Academic Awards Announced

Updated 11/19/2012

The NSCAA annually recognizes college and high school soccer programs that have excelled in the classroom, in addition to their work on the pitch.

A total of 726 college soccer teams (222 men, 504 women) posted a team grade point average of 3.0 or higher, thereby earning the NSCAA Team Academic Award for the 2011-12 academic year. Of that total, 152 schools had both their men's and women's programs recognized.
The Akron Zips were one of three programs from the Mid-American Conference, along with Bowling Green and Western Michigan, that had both their men’s and women’s teams receive the award.
To qualify for the award, the high school team must have a minimum grade point average of 3.25 for the entire academic year. The team GPA is determined by adding every player's GPA, then dividing by the number of players.

2011-12 Women's Team Academic Award winners
School, 2011-12 Coach, GPA
University of Akron, Vernon Croft, 3.31
Ball State University, Craig Roberts, 3.43
Bowling Green State University, Kellie Evans, 3.61
University at Buffalo, Michael Thomas, 3.40
Central Michigan University, Neil Stafford, 3.61
Kent State University, Rob Marinaro, 3.55
Miami University, Bobby Kramig, 3.16
Northern Illinois University, John Ross, 3.32
Ohio University, Stacy Strauss, 3.43
University of Toledo, Brad Evans, 3.58
Western Michigan University, Suzie Grech, 3.65

2011-12 Men's Team Academic Award winners
School, 2011-12 Coach, GPA
University of Akron, Caleb Porter, 3.23
Bowling Green State University, Eric Nichols, 3.07
Hartwick College, John Scott, 3.31 
Western Michigan University, Stu Riddle, 3.45