MAC Announces 2012 Volleyball Regular Season Awards

Updated 11/15/2012

GENEVA, Ohio – The Mid-American Conference announced the 2012 MAC Volleyball regular season award winners on the eve of the 2012 MAC Tournament quarterfinals.  Being named included the Player of the Year, Defensive Player of the Year, Setter of the Year and Freshman of the Year, as well as, the 18 member first team, six member second team and six member freshman team as voted by the coaches of the Mid-American Conference.

Ohio sophomore Kelly Lamberti  becomes the record eighth Bobcat to be voted the 2012 Mid-American Conference player of the year after leading the Bobcats to an outright regular season title and was second in the league with 232 kills.  The eight player of the year awards tie them with Western Michigan for the most in MAC history.  Lamberti, who was also named to the first team, is joined by Meredith Ashy and Chelsea Bigler on the first team, while Faith Robins and Serena Warner received second team honors.  Ashy was also named to the 2012 freshman team.
A trio of Broncos rounded out the 2012 individual awards as Terin Norris was named Setter Player of the Year, Lena Oliver was named Defensive Player of the Year, and Stephenee Yancy earned Freshman of the Year.  Western Michigan teammate Jessica Brown joined Norris and Oliver on the first team as well.  Oliver’s Defensive Player of the Year award marks the third time a Bronco has received the award since it’s inception in 2006, while Yancy joins current teammates Jessica Brown and Terin Norris as current WMU players to be honored as the Freshman of the Year.
Rounding out the first team included Akron’s Tina Dimitrijevs, Ball State’s Kara Bates and Lisa Scott, Bowling Green’s Lindsey Butterfield, Paige Penrod and Danielle Tonyan, Central Michigan’s Jenna Coates and Kaitlyn McIntyre, Eastern Michigan’s Rachel Iaquaniello, Miami’s Meg Riley, and Northern Illinois’ Sarah Angelos and Mary Kurisch.  
Alongside Ohio’s Robins and Warner on the second team are Buffalo’s Liz Scott, Central Michigan’s Kelly Maxwell, Northern Illinois’ Amber Walker and Toledo’s Dakota Harkins.
Finally, the 2012 MAC All-Freshman Team, which is led by Freshman of the Year Yancy and first team member Ashy, is also consisting of Ball State’s Jenna Spadafora, Angie White of Central Michigan, Alexis Gonzalez of NIU and Abby Gilleland of Ohio.
MAC Volleyball Player of the Year
Kelly Lamberti, Ohio
MAC Volleyball Setter of the Year
Terin Norris, Western Michigan
MAC Volleyball Defensive Player of the Year
Lena Oliver, Western Michigan
MAC Volleyball Freshman of the Year
Stephenee Yancy, Western Michigan
All-MAC First Team
Tina Dimitrijevs, Akron
Kara Bates, Ball State
Lisa Scott, Ball State
Lindsey Butterfield, Bowling Green
Paige Penrod, Bowling Green
Danielle Tonyan, Bowling Green
Jenna Coates, Central Michigan
Kaitlyn McIntyre, Central Michigan
Rachel Iaquaniello, Eastern Michigan
Meg Riley, Miami
Sarah Angelos, Northern Illinois
Mary Kurisch, Northern Illinois
Meredith Ashy, Ohio
Chelsea Bilger, Ohio
Kelly Lamberti, Ohio
Jessica Brown, Western Michigan
Terin Norris, Western Michigan
Lena Oliver, Western Michigan
All-MAC Second Team
Liz Scott, Buffalo
Kelly Maxwell, Central Michigan
Amber Walker, Northern Illinois
Faith Robins, Ohio
Serena Warner, Ohio
Dakota Harkins, Toledo
All-MAC Freshman Team
Jenna Spadafora, Ball State
Angie White, Central Michigan
Alexis Gonzalez, Northern Illinois
Meredith Ashy, Ohio
Abby Gilleland, Ohio
Stephenee Yancy, Western Michigan