MAC To Serve As Host For 2015 NCAA Men's Basketball Midwest Regional

Updated 11/12/2012

Click Here for the Official NCAA Release

Cleveland, Ohio -- The NCAA has announced today that the Mid-American Conference & Greater Cleveland Sports Commission will serve as hosts with Cleveland State University acting as co-host for the 2015 NCAA Division I Men’s Basketball Championship Midwest Regional in Cleveland, Ohio. The games will be played at Quicken Loans Arena on Thursday, March 26 and Saturday, March 28, 2015. 
This will mark the second time the Mid-American Conference has hosted an NCAA Division I Men’s Basketball Championship Regional. The MAC also hosted the Midwest Regional in 2000 at the Palace of Auburn Hills in Detroit, Mich. This will also mark the third time that Quicken Loans Arena has hosted a Division I NCAA Basketball Championship event after serving as the site for the 2007 Division I Women’s Basketball Final Four as well as the 2011 NCAA Men’s Basketball Tournament Second & Third Rounds.  
“The award of the 2015 event is testimony to the faith and trust the NCAA Division I Men’s Basketball Committee has in the Mid-American Conference and in Cleveland,” said Jon Steinbrecher, Commissioner of the Mid-American Conference. “The MAC and its partners have always been committed to conducting first-class, fiscally responsible events. We look forward to hosting the Midwest Regionals in 2015 at The Q.”
Quicken Loans Arena has served as the venue for the MAC Men’s Basketball Tournament since 2000 and the MAC Women’s Basketball Tournament since 2001. The Men’s Basketball Tournament at the Q is the longest running neutral site men’s tournament other than the Big East men’s tournament at Madison Square Garden. 
“The Midwest Regional will be a truly exciting event that puts Cleveland in the national spotlight,” says David Gilbert, President and CEO of the Greater Cleveland Sports Commission. “This event will bring thousands of visitors to Cleveland, showcase the city to sports fans across the country and infuse over $5 million into the local economy.”

“Quicken Loans Arena is proud to continue our tradition of hosting NCAA tournament action and thankful for the great partnership we have with the Mid-American Conference, the Greater Cleveland Sports Commission & Cleveland State University that helped bring this world-class event to our community,” said Cavaliers and Quicken Loans Arena President Len Komoroski. “Together, we look forward to adding to the excitement that March Madness brings to downtown Cleveland every year with the Mid-American Conference tournament and now another special visit by the NCAA.”
In 2015, the four regional sites include Los Angeles, Calif., Houston, Texas and Syracuse, N.Y. and those games will be played from March 26-29. Dayton will host the First Four March 17 and 18 and the eight cities hosting second- and third-round games March 19-21 will be Jacksonville, Fla., Louisville, Ky., Pittsburgh, Pa., Portland, Ore., Charlotte, N.C., Columbus, Ohio, Omaha, Neb. and Seattle, Wash. 
Mid-American Conference
Founded in 1946, the Mid-American Conference is an NCAA Division I, 12-member conference that sponsors 23 championships and is one of 11 members of the Football Bowl Subdivison (FBS). With total enrollment of nearly 300,000 students, the league represents institutions of higher learning in six (6) states – Illinois, Indiana, Michigan, New York, and Ohio. In addition a 13th school – the University of Massachusetts in Amherst, Mass.-- is an affiliate member for football only.
Current MAC schools that hold full membership and the year they joined are -- East Division: University of Akron (1992), Bowling Green State University (1952), University at Buffalo (1998), Kent State University (1951), Miami University (1947), Ohio University (1946). West Division: Ball State University (1973), Central Michigan University (1971), Eastern Michigan University (1971), Northern Illinois University (1975-86, rejoined in 1997), University of Toledo (1950), Western Michigan University (1947).  University of Massachusetts (2011) competes in the East Division in football only. The conference office is based in Cleveland, Ohio. 
About the Greater Cleveland Sports Commission
The Greater Cleveland Sports Commission prides itself on being one of the most distinguished Sports Commissions in the country, effectively leveraging sports events and activities to further economic development in Northeast Ohio. The philosophy of the Sports Commission sets it apart from others by operating as an economic and community development organization utilizing sports as a vehicle to forward other community agendas. The organization takes the unique approach of becoming a management and financial partner in each event with the goal of producing events that are more successful in Cleveland than other cities in which they have been held. Since 2000, the Sports Commission has been responsible for attracting over 125 sporting events, contributing to more than $385 million in economic activity.
Quicken Loans Arena
Northeast Ohio’s premier sports and entertainment destination, Quicken Loans Arena, also known as The Q, is home to the NBA’s Cleveland Cavaliers, the American Hockey League’s Lake Erie Monsters, the Arena Football League’s Cleveland Gladiators and host to the best entertainment in the region.  Each year "The Q" welcomes nearly 1.5 million people at 200 plus events that include Cavaliers basketball, Monsters hockey, world-class concerts, family shows and signature sporting events like the Mid-American Conference’s (MAC) men’s and women’s post-season basketball tournaments. The Q recently played host to the second and third rounds of the 2011 NCAA Division I Men’s Basketball Championships and has also hosted the NBA All-Star game, the NCAA Women’s Final Four and the United States Figure Skating Championships.