MAC Announces Men’s Soccer Regular Season Awards

Updated 11/8/2012


CLEVELAND, Ohio – The Mid-American Conference announced the 2012 Men’s Soccer post season award winners. Voting for the 22-member All-MAC Teams is done solely by the Mid-American Conference Men’s Soccer head coaches. 
For the sixth-consecutive season Akron head coach, Caleb Porter has been honored as the 2012 “Gary V. Palmisano” Coach of the Year.  Porter led the Zips to a 15-1-2 overall record in 2012, and a 7-0 record in the MAC.  The Zips 7-0 conference record gave No. 1 Akron its eighth-consecutive MAC regular season championship and seventh under Porter. 
Akron continued earning honors as they also took single awards for Player and Co-Newcomer of the Year. Senior Scott Caldwell earned the MAC Player of the Year award following a season where he finished the 2012 regular season first in the MAC with 24 points and second in goals with nine. This season Caldwell was a candidate for the Hermann Trophy and is a finalist for the Senior CLASS Award. Caldwell becomes Akron’s eighth consecutive player to win this honor.  
Dillon Serna, the freshman midfielder from Akron won the Co-Newcomer of the Year Award alongside Bowling Green’s Anthony Grant. Serna leads the conference with eight assists in 2012 and has started in 17 of 18 games this season. Serna also is the sixth consecutive Akron Zip to earn the Newcomer of the Year honor and eleventh overall.
Grant leads the MAC with five game-winning goals, and scored the winner in all three of the team's conference victories.  His game-winning goal total is the highest by a Falcon player since Bobby Biggs scored six winners in the 1997 season. The junior forward is number one on the team in scoring, Grant has 20 points, including a team-high eight goals along with four assists. 
The 2012 All-MAC first-team was made up of seven student athletes from Akron, two from Bowling Green and placing one student-athlete each was West Virginia and Western Michigan. The 2012 MAC regular season champs led the All-MAC first team with the 2012 Co- Newcomer of the Year, Dillon Serna and Player of the Year, Scott Caldwell. Last seasons’ Newcomer of the Year Will Trapp, along with defenders Chad Barson and Deandre Yedlin, forward Reinaldo Brenes and goalkeeper David Meves also earned first team honors.
Meves became the NCAA's all-time shutouts leader this season with the 51st shutout of his career against Michigan State on October 31st.  The senior goalkeeper has allowed just six goals in 2012 for a goals-against-average (GAA) of 0.33. He has been a part of 14 shutouts, which is the program's third highest single-season total all-time. 
 Bowling Green’s two players on first team included Co-Newcomer of the Year Anthony Grant and midfielder Danny Baraldi. The final two spots were closed out with new conference affiliate member West Virginia’s Eric Schoenle and Western Michigan’s’ Shane Lyons.  
The All-MAC second-team was composed of student-athletes from five of the eight programs. Akron, Hartwick, Northern Illinois, West Virginia and Western Michigan, were recognized on the second-team. West Virginia led the second team landing four players in Andrew Bevin, Peabo Doue, Uwem Etuk and Travis Pittman. Akron placed three members from their squad on the second team in Brian Gallego, Aodhan Quinn and forward Eric Stevenson. Western Michigan placed Darren Jones and goalkeeper Sean Lewis on the second team. Closing the All-MAC second team was Hartwick and Northern Illinois, who each landed one forward on the team.  For Hartwick it was Cleyon Brown and for Northern Illinois James Stevenson.
MAC Co-Newcomer of the Year
Dillon Serna, Akron, MF
Anthony Grant, Bowling Green, F
MAC Player of the Year
Scott Caldwell, Akron, MF
“Gary V. Palmisano” MAC Coach of the Year
Caleb Porter, Akron
All-MAC First-Team
Chad Barson, Akron, D, Sr. 
Reinaldo Brenes, Akron, F, Jr.
Scott Caldwell, Akron, MF, Sr.  
David Meves, Akron, GK, Sr.
Dillon Serna, Akron, MF, Fr. 
Will Trapp, Akron, MF, So. 
Deandre Yedlin, Akron, D, So. 
Danny Baraldi, Bowling Green, MF, So.  
Anthony Grant, Bowling Green, F, Jr.
Eric Schoenle, West Virginia, D, Sr. 
Shane Lyons, Western Michigan, F, Sr.
All-MAC Second-Team
Brian Gallego, Akron, D, So. 
Aodhan Quinn, Akron, MF, Jr.
Eric Stevenson, Akron, F, Jr. 
Cleyon Brown, Hartwick, F, Sr. 
James Stevenson, Northern Illinois, F, Jr. 
Andrew Bevin, West Virginia, MF, So. 
Peabo Doue, West Virginia, D, Sr.
Uwem Etuk, West Virginia, MF, Sr. 
Travis Pittman, West Virginia, MF, Sr. 
Darren Jones, Western Michigan, D, Sr. 
Sean Lewis, Western Michigan, GK, Jr.