MAC Announces 2012 Women's Soccer Postseason Awards

Updated 11/1/2012


CLEVELAND, Ohio – On Thursday the Mid‐American Conference announced its regular season award winners for the 2012 MAC Women’s Soccer season. The awards that are voted on solely by the coaches included the All‐MAC first and second‐teams, All‐Freshman team, and the individual awards for Offensive, Defensive and Freshman of the Year, and Coach of the Year. 
The All‐MAC first‐team was made up of five players from Central Michigan, four from Miami, and two from Eastern Michigan. For Central Michigan, midfielder Autumn Hawkins, forward Laura Twidle, goalkeeper Stefanie Turner as well as defenders, Bailey Brandon and Katie Slaughter all received first team. These recognized players helped lead the Chippewas to a 9-2-0 MAC record and their third MAC West Division title since the conference switched to the divisional format in 2009. The Miami RedHawks placed midfielders Kelsey Dinges, Katy Dolesh and Kayla Zakrzewski, along with forward Jess Kodiak. Dinges and Kodiak are tied for second in the MAC with 10 goals on the year while Kodiak is also second with 29 points. Dolesh is fourth with eight goals and fifth with 23 points while Zakrzewski has seven goals of her own in addition to a school-record 10 assists this season. Eastern Michigan defender Emily Dzik and forward Bianca Rossi also placed first team. 
Miami forward and team captain, Jess Kodiak was also named the 2012 MAC Offensive Player of the Year for her efforts in leading an undefeated RedHawks squad to its second regular season title in program history. Miami won the 2012 MAC regular-season title with an unbeaten league mark of 10-0-1, becoming just the second team in MAC history to not lose a league game. Kodiak is one of the top seven point-scorers in the MAC, who is second in the league with 29 points. She has scored at least one point in 10 of the team’s 16 games this year.  For Miami, Kodiak is the first player to receive Offensive Player of the Year recognition since Kathleen Vistica won in 2006. 
On the defensive end, Central Michigan’s Bailey Brandon was named the 2012 Defensive Player of the Year following a season where on the defensive back line, the Chippewas posted eight shutouts and led the MAC West Division at 9-2, and are 14-5-1 overall. Brandon has also scored a goal in the 2012 campaign, giving her three for her career. For Central Michigan, Brandon becomes the third player in four years to win the Defensive Player of the Year Award. 
After landing no one on the first team, the Akron Zips landed two on the All MAC second team. The Zips included midfielder Kelly DeNiro, and forward Ashley Hughes. Kent State had three make the second team, Jaclyn Dutton, Stephanie Haugh and Hannah Newhouse.  Ball State, Eastern Michigan, Miami, Northern Illinois, Ohio and Toledo each placed one player on the second‐team. Ball State put defender Pavla Benyrova, while Eastern Michigan placed midfielder Cara Cutaia,  Miami had midfielder Haley Walter, for Northern Illinois it was goalkeeper Amy Carr, for Ohio it was midfielder Cat Rogers,  and for Toledo, defender Natalia Gaitan.
Haley Walter was not only named second-team All-MAC, and All-Freshman Team but the Miami midfielder was also named MAC Freshman of the Year . Walter started in every game this season scoring eight goals (including 3 game winners) and had seven assists.  Walter was also named MAC Player of the Week for the third week of the season. For Miami, Haley becomes the first freshman to win the award since Sara Lund in 2007.
Akron continued making its way on the awards list by placing three freshmen on the MAC All-Freshman Team that included forward Megan Waskowski, defender Katie George, and goalkeeper Klaire Adee. Waskowski was one of just two freshmen to play in every game, she scored four goals and added three assist for 11 points. George was one of six players to start every game, helped the defense to shutouts against Cleveland State, Canisius and Bowling Green. Adee made 12 appearances in goal, starting six times, allowed 17 goals and made 46 saves.  Ball State placed forwards Morgan Whitfield, Aubrey Hauenstein, and Kalynn Flanagan. Whitfield scored the game-tying goal against Miami, helping the Cardinals become the only MAC team to tie a RedHawks squad that was otherwise perfect in MAC play. Hauenstein tallied three points (one goal, one assist) on the season. Flanagan played in 18 games during her rookie campaign and was a significant contributor offensively.
Bowling Green and Buffalo were not denied of an award either as the Falcons goalkeeper, Jenna Underwood and Bulls’ defender Kristin Markiewicz placed on the team as well. Underwood made 65 saves in conference play for a .765 saves percentage for the Falcons. Markiewicz played center back on a veteran defensive back line that allowed 70 fewer shots and 53 fewer shots on goal, shutting out the opposition four times. The All‐Freshman team was rounded out by three from Central Michigan, forward Danielle Rotheram and midfielders Christen Chiesa, and Josie Seebeck. Rotheram made nine points and tied for second on the team, while Chiesa made two game winning goals vs. Texas State & NIU.  Josie Seebeck assisted on a game winning goal vs. NIU and has had an impressive come back from a concussion & broken ribs during MAC play.
The final award was named to Bobby Kramig of Miami as he was named the Mid‐American Conference’s 2012 Coach of the Year. Kramig led the Miami RedHawks to an overall record of 17-2-1, winning the 2012 MAC regular-season title with an unbeaten league mark of 10-0-1. Miami became just the second team in MAC history to not lose a league game, earning them the right to host the MAC semifinals and championship.  The ‘Hawks hosted the MAC Tournament just one other time, in 2002, when Miami captured its only other regular-season title in program history and also won its third straight MAC Tournament. Coach Kramig becomes the first Miami women’s soccer coach in history to earn this award.
All-MAC First-Team
Bailey Brandon, Central Michigan, Sr., D
Autumn Hawkins, Central Michigan, Sr., MF
Katie, Slaughter, Central Michigan, Sr., D
Stefanie Turner, Central Michigan, Sr., GK
Laura Twidle, Central Michigan, Sr., F
Emily Dzik, Eastern Michigan, So., D
Bianca Rossi, Eastern Michigan, So., F
Kelsey Dinges, Miami, So., MF
Katy Dolesh, Miami, Jr., MF
Jess Kodiak, Miami, Sr., F
Kayla Zakrzewski, Miami, Jr., MF
All-MAC Second-Team
Kelly DeNiro, Akron, Jr. MF
Ashley Hughes, Akron, Jr., F 
Pavla Benyrova, Ball State, So., D
Cara Cutaia, Eastern Michigan, Jr., MF
Jaclyn Dutton, Kent State, Jr., F
Stephanie Haugh, Kent State, So., F
Hannah Newhouse, Kent State, Jr., D 
Haley Walter, Miami, Fr., MF
Amy Carr, Northern Illinois, Jr., GK 
Cat Rogers, Ohio, Sr., MF
Natalia Gaitan, Toledo, Sr., D
All Freshman-Team
Megan Waskowski, Forward, Akron
Katie George, Defender, Akron
Klaire Adee, Goalkeeper, Akron
Morgan Whitfield, Forward, Ball State
Aubrey Hauenstein, Forward, Ball State
Kalynn Flanagan, Forward, Ball State
Jenna Underwood, Goalkeeper, Bowling Green
Kristin Markiewicz, Defender, Buffalo
Danielle Rotheram, Forward/MF, Central Michigan
Christen Chiesa, Midfield/Def, Central Michigan
Josie Seebeck, Midfielder, Central Michigan
Haley Walter, Midfielder, Miami 
Offensive Player of the Year 
Jess Kodiak, Miami
Defensive Player of the Year
Bailey Brandon, Central Michigan
Freshman of the Year
Haley Walter, Miami
Coach of the Year
Bobby Kramig, Miami