EMU's Iaquaniello Named as a Finalist for Senior CLASS Award

Updated 10/19/2012

Story courtesy of EMU Sports Information

OVERLAND PARK, Kan. (EMUEagles.com) – Eastern Michigan University volleyball senior, Rachel Iaquaniello, was named as one-of-10 NCAA® women's volleyball student-athletes who excel both on and off the court that were selected as finalists Friday, Oct. 19, for the 2012 Senior CLASS Award® in collegiate volleyball. To be eligible for the award, a student-athlete must be classified as an NCAA Division I senior and have notable achievements in four areas of excellence – community, classroom, character and competition. The complete list of finalists follows this release.
Iaquaniello has helped the Eagles to a 13-11 start and 3-5 conference record this season, leading the team in kills, averaging 4.07, a Mid-American Conference best, kills per set. The Plymouth, Mich. native was named to the Preseason All-MAC Team, and earned the Most Outstanding Player honors at the 2012 Memphis Invitational. She is the only player in the MAC to earn a spot on the 2012 Senior CLASS Award candidate list.
An acronym for Celebrating Loyalty and Achievement for Staying in School ®, the Senior CLASS Award focuses on the total student-athlete and encourages students to use their platform in athletics to make a positive impact as leaders in their communities.
The finalists were chosen by a media committee from the list of 30 candidates announced in September. Nationwide fan voting begins immediately to help select the winner. Fans are encouraged to vote on the Senior CLASS Award website through Nov. 26. Fan votes will be combined with media and Division I head coaches' votes to determine the winner.
The Senior CLASS Award winner will be announced during the 2012 NCAA Division I Women's Volleyball Championship, which will take place Dec.r 13 and 15 in Louisville, Ky.
 For more information on the finalists, visit seniorCLASSaward.com.
Volleyball Finalists
Rachel Iaquaniello, Eastern Michigan
Alaina Bergsma, Oregon
Dana Cranston, Colorado State
Ashley Frazier, Kentucky
Altrese Hawkins, Memphis
Rachael Kidder, UCLA
Rachel Krabacher, Dayton
Gina Mancuso, Nebraska
Sam Serley, UAB
Ariel Turner, Purdue