Toledo, Kent State Tabbed as Women's Soccer Preseason Favorites

Updated 8/16/2012

CLEVELAND, Ohio - Coaches have made their votes for the Mid-American Conference women’s soccer preseason poll. Toledo took all but one vote (69 total) as the West Division regular season champs. Kent State received a total of 64 votes to earn the East Division regular season title. 

Last season Toledo won the West Division regular season title posting a record of (14-7-2). Winning the West Division title again would be Brad Evans’ fourth regular season title as head coach for the Rockets. 
Toledo's conference record over the last five seasons under Evans is 41-10-4 (.782), best in the league.
Kent State doesn’t fall behind either--the Golden Flashes are coming off a 12-8 season in 2011, which included the team's MAC East Division title.
Kent State twice tied for the MAC regular season title during Rob Marinaro's tenure as head coach. The Golden Flashes’ 12 wins tied for second-most wins in program history.
Coming in second in the West Division regular season was Central Michigan with 59 votes followed by Western Michigan (47), Ball State (33), Eastern Michigan (30), and Northern Illinois (14). 
In the East...Miami came in second place with 52 votes, tightly behind with one less vote is Buffalo (51) followed by Akron (35), Ohio (33), and Bowling Green (17). 
Toledo was also chosen as the 2012 MAC Tournament champs by coaches, posting a total of 5 votes.  With a league-record of four tournament titles under their belt (2006, ‘07, ‘08, ‘11), the Rockets may be on their way to a fifth. 
The 2012 MAC Tournament title would set Toledo above in over 3 records in the books, including Tournament Titles by School, Tournament Titles by Coach, Regular Season Titles by Coach, and Regular Season Titles by School. 
Evans, who is entering his 12th season at Toledo, has led the program to a 118-82-24 overall record and a 69-43-12 league mark. 
East Division
Kent (64 votes)
Miami (52)
Buffalo (51)
Akron (35)
Ohio (33)
Bowling Green (17)
West Division 
Toledo (69)
Central Michigan (59)
Western Michigan (47)
Ball State (33)
Eastern Michigan (30)
Northern Illinois (14)
MAC Tournament Champions
Toledo (5 votes)
Central Michigan (3)
Western Michigan (3)
Ball State (1)