Kent State Opens Super Regional Play vs. Oregon this Saturday

Updated 6/4/2012
Kent State Road To Omaha Blog: Super Regional Edition

Story courtesy of Kent State Sports Information


INDIANAPOLIS - No. 25 Kent State baseball's next stop on its Road To Omaha and the 2012 NCAA College World Series sends the 2012 Gary Regional champions 2,492 miles to the Pacific Northwest to battle No. 10 Oregon in the nationally televised best-of-three Eugene Super Regional, beginning Saturday (June 9).
 
Kent State's first Super Regional game in program history is slated for Saturday (June 9) at PK Park in Eugene, Ore. First pitch is scheduled for 11 p.m. ET (8 p.m. PT). Game two is set for Sunday (June 10) with a 10 p.m. ET (7 p.m. PT) first pitch. If necessary, game three will be played Monday  (June 11) beginning at 7 p.m. ET (4 p.m. PT). The series will be nationally televised on ESPNU.

Tickets for the Eugene Super Regional are currently on sale at www.GoDucks.com. The winner of the Super Regional will advance to the College World Series, which is slated to be played June 15-26 at TD Ameritrade Park in Omaha, Neb.

The Golden Flashes (44-17) clinched a dramatic 3-2 NCAA Championship Gary Regional title over No. 13 Kentucky Sunday (June 3) at U.S. Steel Yard in Gary, Ind., marking Kent State's first regional championship. Ranked No. 25 in the nation according to Collegiate Baseball Newspaper, the Golden Flashes ran their nation-long winning streak to 20 games – including seven in the post-season – courtesy of the victory over the Wildcats.

The 2012 Mid-American Conference Regular Season and Tournament champions, Kent State has won 35 of its last 42 games – including 24 of 26. The Flashes won a wire-to-wire regular season title and followed it up by going a perfect 4-0 in the MAC Tournament to clinch their fourth straight conference tournament crown.

Kent State, the regional's No. 3 seed, advanced to its second straight NCAA Regional Winner's Bracket Final by outlasting Kentucky, 7-6, in 21 innings in the regional opener Friday (June 1) – the second-longest game in the history of the NCAA Tournament – then knocked off the regional host and top seed, No. 16 Purdue, 7-3, Saturday (June 2).
 
Kent State seeks its first NCAA College World Series berth while Oregon takes aim at its first since 1954.