Day One Results from the MAC Track and Field Championships

Updated 5/10/2012
Complete Results

After day one of the three-day event, Akron leads the team standings on the men’s side, while Kent State and Toledo are tied up on the women’s.  Through seven total events scored on both sides (four for the men, three for the women) a pair of teammates have medaled in all but the women’s javelin, which saw medalists come from Kent State, Central Michigan and Miami.  

Kent State opened up the championships by going one-two in the men’s javelin.  Freshman, Robert Robbins, took gold for the Golden Flashes, with a 64.17 into a strong wind.  Taking second was teammate Brian Florek, as he tossed a 62.86 for the silver.  Rounding out the men’s javelin medalists was Buffalo’s Jacob Sunday with a 62.18.  

Central Michigan followed up Kent State’s performance by taking two-of-three medals in the men’s hammer throw.  Ryan McCullough launched a 64.20 meter toss to capture the gold, for the maroon and gold.  Taking second was Akron’s Eric Hubbard, who came into the championships with the best mark of the season.  Hubbard threw a 62.96 for second for the Zips.  Taking third was McCullough’s Chippewa teammate, Kevin Mays with a 60.96.

Akron was next to join the party, as Akron took two medals in the men’s pole vault.  Zips sophomore, Shawn Light, edged out teammate Joe Wesley at 5.08, by clearing the mark on less attempts for the gold.  Behind the pair of Zips, Eastern Michigan’s Max Babits took third after clearing 4.93 on his first attempt.

Through four events of the women’s heptathlon, Ball State’s Thekla Lorenz leads with 3075 points.  13 points behind Lorenz is Miami’s Erica Mudd, with 3062 points, and Ashley Zaper, at 2976, also of Miami.  

On the men’s side, Akron’s Bryan Jones, leads the decathlon with 3848 points halfway through the competition.  Behind Jones, Miami teammates Jordan Goeffena and Sam Chester sit in second and third as they head into tomorrow’s second and final day of the event.

In the women’s javelin, it took the sixth and final throw for Sara Oczypok, of Kent State, to capture the gold with a throw of 47.50 meters.   Taking second, with a Central Michigan school record, was Milica Kulidzan with a silver medal throw of 46.11 meters.  Closing out the top three was Victoria Paterra of Miami, with a 45.07.

Ari Fisher and Megan Voglesong finished out the women’s day one event, going one-two for Toledo in the 10000 meter run.  Fisher took first at 35:23.10, while Vogelsong finished nearly 19 seconds behind for second, at 35:42.03.  Western Michigan’s Amber Brunmeier took third for the Bronco’s with a time of 35:47.47, picking up WMU’s first medal of the three-day event.

In the final event of the day, Terefe Ejigu of Eastern Michigan left hope open to many as he didn’t make his move until the final four laps, but when all was said and done, the two-time Most Outstanding Performer outlasted teammate Harry Dixon to the finishline in the men’s 10000 meter run to wrap-up day one.  Terefe turned in a time of 31:13.71 for first, Dixon had a 31:14.24 for second, and Central Michigan’s Kyle Stacks took third with a 31:22.60.

Competition resumes tomorrow at Lyle Bennett Track, on the campus of Central Michigan at 11 AM.

Women’s Team Standings Through Day 1 (3 Events Scored)
T1 Kent State – 22
T1 Toledo – 22
3 Akron – 16
4 Central Michigan – 14
5 Eastern Michigan – 11
6 Buffalo – 10
7 Miami – 9
8 Western Michigan – 8
9 Ohio – 5
T10 Ball State – 0
T10 Bowling Green – 0
T10 Northern Illinois – 0

Men’s Team Standings Through Day 1 (4 Events Scored)
1 Akron – 36
T2 Central Michigan – 29
T2 Eastern Michigan – 29
4 Kent State – 28
5 Miami – 18
6 Buffalo – 16