MAC Announces Men's Swimming and Diving Academic Awards

Updated 4/4/2012
CLEVELAND, Ohio – The Mid-American Conference announced Wednesday the 2012 Men’s Swimming and Diving Academic All-MAC Team, as voted by the faculty athletic representatives from the member MAC institutions.  

Five members of the all-MAC first team, and 2012 MAC Champions received academic all-MAC honors for their combined performances in and out of the water.   Eastern Michigan’s Troy Esentan and Andrew Saunders, Missouri State’s Jared Roberts, and Southern Illinois’ Matt Parson’s and Justin Wolfe, represented the All-MAC first team by picking up the 2012 academic honors.

From the all-MAC second team, Miami’s Alex Reinhardt was the only representative to receive the academic team honor.

The Academic All-MAC honor is for a student-athlete who has excelled in athletics and academics.  To qualify, a student-athlete must have at least a 3.20 cumulative GPA and have participated in at least 50 percent of the contests for that particular sport.  First-year students and junior college transfers in their first year of residence are not eligible for the award. Outstanding academic and athletic accomplishments for the current season are only considered.

2012 Men’s Swimming and Diving Academic All-MAC Team
Andrew Tharp, Ball State
Chris Berloth, Buffalo
Kevin Douglas, Eastern Michigan
Troy Esentan, Eastern Michigan
Gus Everson, Eastern Michigan
Michael Kinross, Eastern Michigan
Ricky Linder, Eastern Michigan
Gilles Renard, Eastern Michigan
Andrew Saunders, Eastern Michigan
Colin Gray, Evansville
Michael Cavanaugh, Miami
Alex Reinhardt, Miami
Daan Jansen, Missouri State
Jared Roberts, Missouri State
Jared Bradd, Southern Illinois
Matt Kruse, Southern Illinois
Matt Parsons, Southern Illinois
Justin Wolfe, Southern Illinois

2012 Honorable Mention:
Anthony DeBrota, Ball State
Andrew Hostetler, Ball State
Mark Nau, Ball State
Michael Weber, Ball State
Paul Garman, Buffalo
Chris Iafrati, Buffalo
Colin Patrican, Buffalo
Tyler Capen, Eastern Michigan
Jake Heyblom, Eastern Michigan
Aaron Lawson, Eastern Michigan
Matt Zavislak, Eastern Michigan
Jake Harrington, Evansville
Mallet Reid, Evansville
Kyle Tiemann, Evansville
Sam Childs, Miami
Sam Flessner, Miami
Jake Coleman, Missouri State
Tyler Saltzberry, Missouri State
Jeff Chen, Southern Illinois
Jake Lucheon, Southern Illinois
Will Olson, Miami
Kegan Rogers, Miami
Nathan Day, Southern Illinois