Women's Swimming and Diving Academic All-MAC Announced

Updated 4/4/2012
CLEVELAND, Ohio - The Mid-American Conference announced Monday, the 2012 Women’s Swimming and Diving Academic All-MAC Team, as voted by the faculty athletic representatives from the member MAC institutions.  

The 30 member team consists of seven champions, and first team all-MAC members, from the 2012 season.  Briana Emig represented Eastern Michigan and was joined by fellow champions, Rachel Johnson and Claire Leichty from Toledo, and Maegan O’Connor, Leah Thornton, Bekka Westrick, and 2012 Outstanding Diver, Nikki Craft from Miami.  

Emig and Leichty also represented the Mid-American Conference at the 2012 NCAA Championships in March.

Second team all-MAC members that also earned the academic all-MAC honors included Mallory Miles of Ball State, Alie Schirmers of Buffalo, Maddie Kete of Miami, Amanda Cecere of Ohio, and Christina Noens and Louise Smyth of Toledo.

The Academic All-MAC honor is for a student-athlete who has excelled in athletics and academics.  To qualify, a student-athlete must have at least a 3.20 cumulative GPA and have participated in at least 50 percent of the contests for that particular sport.  First-year students and junior college transfers in their first year of residence are not eligible for the award. Outstanding academic and athletic accomplishments for the current season are only considered.

2012 Women’s Swimming and Diving Academic All-MAC Team
Meghan Bowling, Akron
Kelsea Cross, Akron
Meg Finnerty, Akron
Leeanna Hoover, Akron
Jackie Iglesias, Ball State
Mallory Miles, Ball State
Emily Wisolek, Ball State
Jennifer Beatty, Bowling Green
Alie Schirmers, Buffalo
Wesley Blassneck, Eastern Michigan
Briana Emig, Eastern Michigan
Danielle Hulvey, Eastern Michigan
Nikki Craft, Miami
Maddie Kete, Miami
Kelsey Mallon, Miami
Maegan O’Connor, Miami
Leah Thornton, Miami
Jenny Warmolts, Miami
Lisa Werwinski, Miami
Bekka Westrick, Miami
Kristin Capcik, Ohio
Amanda Cecere, Ohio
Abby Corcoran, Ohio
MaryRose Hillstrom, Ohio
Rachel Johnson, Toledo
Claire Leichty, Toledo
Carly Harter, Toledo
Christina Noens, Toledo
Louise Smyth, Toledo
LesLee Winfield, Toledo

2012 Honorable Mention:
Jessica Breymier, Akron
Becca Emerich, Akron
Jessica Ickes, Akron
Carla McNamara, Akron
Molly Raspopovich, Akron
Rachel Szymkowiak, Akron
Whitney Adams, Ball State
Sara Hostetler, Ball State
Mia Miller, Ball State
Mallory Przybylinski, Ball State
Nicole Saulters, Ball State
Haley Richter, Ball State
Christina Riordan, Ball State 
Cori Vormohr, Ball State
Megan Bomicino, Bowling Green
Andrea Brown, Bowling Green
Alexa Harris, Bowling Green
Sarah Reinink, Bowling Green
Amanda Rom, Bowling Green
Katie Womack, Bowling Green
Danielle Adank, Buffalo
Kelsey Barbour, Buffalo
Ava Giachino, Buffalo
Taylor Lansing, Buffalo
Emma Miller, Buffalo
Karly Moore, Buffalo
Amanda Reall, Buffalo
Alex Swies, Buffalo
Michele Gingher, Eastern Michigan
Lily Glaeser, Eastern Michigan
Samantha Nameth, Eastern Michigan
Christina Nunez-Wood, Eastern Michigan
Samantha Partridge, Eastern Michigan
Jackie Swartz, Eastern Michigan
Vanessa Weidner, Eastern Michigan
Ellen Barhorst, Miami
Cynthia Donovan, Miami
Brianna Fujan, Miami
Mandi Grandjean, Miami
Laura Krueger, Miami
Kayla Scott, Miami
Molly Tyler, Miami