MAC Names Recipients of the 2011 Bob James Memorial Award

Updated 8/30/2011
CLEVELAND, OHIO – Bowling Green State University’s Christine Chiricosta (tennis) and Miami’s Jon Edgington (baseball) have been named the recipients of the 2011 Bob James Memorial Award by the Mid-American Conference Faculty Athletics Representatives as announced by the league office today.

In its 22nd year, the Bob James Memorial Award recognizes one female and one male student-athlete who have achieved a minimum grade point average of 3.5, and have displayed good character, leadership and citizenship. The student-athletes are nominated during the year in which they complete their final season of eligibility. The $5,000 post-graduate scholarship is awarded in honor Bob James, the second commissioner in Mid-American Conference history (1964-71).

Chiricosta graduated summa cum laude with a Bachelor of Science Degree in Education that featured a major in Adolescent to Young Adult Education with a specialization in Integrated Language Arts and a minor in English.  Her overall GPA at graduation was 4.0, which earned her the President’s Award, a recognition presented to students completing a degree with a perfect GPA.

During her collegiate career, Chiricosta was named third team Academic All-America by ESPN The Magazine as a sophomore, second team Academic All-America by ESPN The Magazine as a junior and first team Academic All-America by Capital One as a senior.  In addition, she was named Bowling Green Scholar Athlete of the Year as a junior, and as a senior was awarded highest honor bestowed on a student-athlete, the BGSU Medal of Honor.  

As a senior, Chiricosta shattered career school records in Bowling Green tennis history.  Chiricosta holds the mark for most single wins (89), double wins (89) and combined career victories (178) and was a four-time All-MAC selection. Chiricosta, a native of Avon Lake, Ohio, will attend Bowling Green in the fall where she will begin graduate classes in the Master of Education In Curriculum and Teaching program.

Edgington graduated cum laude from Miami with a Bachelor of Arts & Science Degree in Microbiology and a minor in Chemistry of Life Processes Concentration and a 3.73 GPA.  Edgington was a Capital One/CoSIDA Academic All-District IV Second Team selection in 2011 and was a member of the Miami’s Dean’s List in 2008-10.

Edgington finished his career ranked fifth at Miami in career runs scored (166), seventh in career at bats (729) and tenth in career stolen bases (52).  During his career, Edgington started 200 games and made 207 career appearances.  Edgington hit above .300 each of his final two seasons (.311 in 2011 and .307 in 2010) and was a two-time team captain as a junior and senior.  Edgington twice earned the team’s Golden Glove Award in 2009 and 2010 and twice earned the team’s RedHawk Award, given to the student-athlete who demonstrates excellence in athletics and academics while having an active role in the community.

A native of Wyoming, Ohio, Edgington will attend medical school at the University of Cincinnati College of Medicine this fall.

Other Female Nominees:
Maria Gramelspacher, Ball State (Swimming & Diving)
Kaihla Szunko, Central Michigan (Basketball)
Rachel Patterson, Miami (Cross Country/Track)
Rachel Heim, Ohio (Swimming & Diving)
Sarah Blake, Toledo (Soccer)
Allyson Doyle, Western Michigan (Volleyball)

Other Male Nominees:
Lucas Murray, Akron (Golf)
Mark Golden, Ball State (Swimming & Diving)
Zackary Leonard, Eastern Michigan (Baseball)
Nutthavit Likitkumchorn, Toledo (Tennis)

Past Bob James Award Winners
2011 Jon Edgington, Miami (Baseball); Christine Chiricosta, Bowling Green (Tennis)
2010 Tim Hiller, Western Michigan (Football); Megan Chronister, Bowling Green (Gymnastics)
2009 Gonzalo Barinaga, Ball State (Football); Jillian Wolosiansky, Eastern Michigan (Volleyball)
2008 Wynn Michalak, Central Michigan (Wrestling); Stephanie Swiger, Bowling Green (Volleyball)
2007 Matt Lefeld, Bowling Green (Basketball); Jody Yednock, Northern Illinois (Gymnastics)
2006 David Mitchell, Miami (Cross Country/Track & Field); Marie Zidek, Northern Illinois (Volleyball)
2005 Burke Badenhop, Bowling Green (Baseball); Robin Davidson, Toledo (Soccer)
2004 Travis Barclay, Ball State (Football); Andrea Kremer, Miami (Track & Field)
2003 Brett Faustman, Central Michigan (Wrestling) and Katrina Kerns, Bowling Green (Track & Field)
2002 Anthony Malik, Bowling Green (Soccer); Kate Miller, Kent State (Basketball)
2001 Nick Iagulli, Miami (Track & Field); Jennifer Jarjosa, Bowling Green (Swimming)
2000 Cato Coleman, Miami (Track & Field); Laura Szczepanski, Ball State (Gymnastics)
1999 Justin Millard, Akron (Soccer); Wendy Feldman, Central Michigan (Volleyball)
1998 Desmond Johnston, Akron (Soccer); Janelle Tranquillo, Ball State (Field Hockey)
1997 Joseph Burch, Bowling Green (Soccer); Sarah Mikrut, Ball State (Gymnastics)
1996 Dustin Swinehart, Miami (Soccer); Kristin Gaddis, Bowling Green (Cross Country/Track)
1995 Stephen Fetyko, Eastern Michigan (Swimming); Dana Drew, Toledo (Basketball)
1994 Bob Dudley, Bowling Green (Football); Kris Parks, Ohio (Cross Country/Track)
1993 Sander Scott, Central Michigan (Basketball); Kelly Weir, Ohio (Basketball)
1992 Jeff Bender, Central Michigan (Football); Julie Young, Western Michigan (Volleyball)
1991 Pat Jackson, Bowling Green (Football); Kristin McDaniel, Kent State (Track & Field)
1990 Danny Rieman, Ball State (Baseball); Linda Popovich, Bowling Green (Volleyball)
1989 Rick Winegardner, Ball State (Swimming); Kim Keenan, Kent State (Cross Country/Track)