NCAA Mideast Region Baseball Selections Released

Updated 6/27/2011

ATHENS, Ohio - The American Baseball Coaches Association and Ohio head coach Joe Carbone, chairman of the NCAA Mideast Region All-American Committee, have announced the 2011 ABCA/Rawlings NCAA Mideast Region First and Second Teams.

The Mid-American Conference was represented by 11 players across the All-Mideast Region First and Second Teams, while the Big 10 had six selections. There were five representatives from the Horizon League, two from the Atlantic 10, one from the Big East and one from Southern Illinois Edwardsville, who just completed their third season of transition to Division I's Ohio Valley Conference. The Mid-American Conference had eight First Team selections, including all four pitching spots, which were taken by Kent State University.

In all, Kent State University had the most selections with seven.

Five of the players named to All-Mideast Region First Team were also selected to the 2011 ABCA/Rawlings All-American Teams. Kent State starting pitcher Kyle Hallock, relief pitcher Kyle McMillen, and Indiana designated hitter Alex Dickerson were all named to the Second Team. Kent State starting pitcher Andrew Chafin and Michigan State first baseman Jeff Holm were selected to the Third Team.

The All-Mideast Region Teams are voted on by all the region's head coaches and Carbone, who as the chairman, tallies the votes and creates the two teams.

"Speaking on behalf of the selection committee, I feel that this year's Mideast Region players are very deserving of this recognition," Carbone said. "They head a long list of impressive players and represent a lot of very good teams from around the region."

There were two recipients of the ABCA/Rawlings Gold Glove Awards from the Mideast Region. Southern Illinois Edwardsville pitcher Spencer Patton and Iowa outfielder Trevor Willis.

The All-American teams are selected by a committee made up of each region's chairman. Monmouth head coach Dean Ehehalt represented the East Region while also chairing the committee and was joined by Oregon head coach George Horton (West), Middle Tennessee State head coach Steve Peterson (South Central), Vanderbilt head coach Tim Corbin (South), UMass head coach Mike Stone (Northeast), Indiana State head coach Rick Heller (Midwest), Virginia head coach Brian O'Connor (Atlantic) and Carbone (Mideast) in Omaha, Neb., last week before the start of the 2011 NCAA Men's College World Series.

2011 ABCA/Rawlings All-Mideast Region Teams
First Team:
Pitcher - Kyle Hallock, Kent State
Pitcher - Andrew Chafin, Kent State
Pitcher - David Starn, Kent State
Reliever - Kyle McMillen, Kent State
Catcher - Tom Murphy, Buffalo
First Base - Jeff Holm, Michigan State
Second Base - Zack Leonard, Eastern Michigan
Shortstop - Alex Jones, Northern Illinois
Third Base - Torsten Boss, Michigan State
Designated Hitter - Alex Dickerson, Indiana
Outfield - Ben Klafczynski, Kent State
Outfield - Sean Deegan, Penn State
Outfield - Justin Riddell, Cincinnati

Second Team:
Pitcher - Kurt Wunderlich, Michigan State
Pitcher - Burny Mitchem, Dayton
Pitcher - Spencer Patton, Southern Illinois Edwardsville
Reliever - Michael Schum, Wright State
Catcher - David Lyon, Kent State
First Base - Jake Hibberd, Wright State
Second Base - Cole Kraft, UW-Milwaukee
Shortstop - Brian Blasik, Dayton
Third Base - Travis Shaw, Kent State
Designated Hitter - Jeff Zimmerman, Northern Illinois
Outfield - Brandon Eckerle, Michigan State
Outfield - Doug Dekoning, UW-Milwaukee
Outfield - Tristan Moore, Wright State

2011 ABCA/Rawlings All-Americans (Selections from Mideast Region)
Second Team:
Pitcher - Kyle Hallock, Kent State
Reliever - Kyle McMillen, Kent State
Designated Hitter - Alex Dickerson, Indiana

Third Team:
Pitcher - Andrew Chafin, Kent State
First Base - Jeff Holm, Michigan State

2011 ABCA/Rawlings Gold Glove Award Winners (Selections from Mideast Region)
Pitcher - Spencer Patton, Southern Illinois Edwardsville