2010-11 Men's Golf Academic All-MAC Team Released

Updated 6/21/2011
CLEVELAND -- The Mid-American Conference announced its 2010-11 Men's Golf Academic All-MAC team Tuesday, as voted by faculty athletic representatives at MAC institutions. A total of eight student-athletes were named to the team.

This year's squad is led by a trio of Kent State golfers: John Hahn, Mackenzie Hughes and Kevin Miller. These three were major contributors for the Golden Flashes as they advanced out of the NCAA East Regional and qualified for the recently completed NCAA Championships in Oklahoma. Northern Illinois were the only other team to have more than one selection as outgoing seniors Tim Kay and Andrew Frame garnered the honor. Rounding out the squad were Lucas Murray of Akron, Alex Stinson of Ball State and Nick Carbary of Eastern Michigan.

The Academic All-MAC honor is for a student-athlete who has excelled in athletics and academics. To qualify, a student-athlete must have at least a 3.20 cumulative GPA and have participated in at least 50 percent of the contests for that particular sport. First-year students and junior college transfers in their first year of residence are not eligible for the award.

2010-11 Men's Golf Academic All-MAC Team
Lucas Murray, Akron
Alex Stinson, Ball State
Nick Carbary, Eastern Michigan
John Hahn, Kent State
Mackenzie Hughes, Kent State
Kevin Miller, Kent State
Tim Kay, Northern Illinois
Andrew Frame, Northern Illinois

2010-11 Men's Golf Academic All-MAC Honorable Mention
Scott Landreth, Akron
Tim Lew, Akron
Cameron Simmons, Akron
TJ Carpenter, Ball State
Tony Lazzara, Ball State
Joe Gasser, Ball State
Derek East, Eastern Michigan
Casey Olsen, Eastern Michigan
Adam Winwood, Eastern Michigan
Paul Grauer, Ohio
Brad Lucas, Ohio
Jean Hubert-Trahan, Toledo