Central Michigan Leads Wrestling Tournament After Day One

Updated 3/5/2011

WATCH Video of Team Introductions 

2011 MAC Wrestling Tournament Championship Brackets - After Day One (see below)

DeKalb, Ill. - Central Michigan leads the team standings after the first day of the 2011 MAC Wrestling Championship at the Convocation Center on the campus of Northern Illinois University.  The Chippewas pace the tournament with 50 points, while Kent State and Buffalo are tied for second place with 43.5 points.

Central Michigan has six finalists in Sunday's ten championship bouts including Scotti Sentes (133), Scott Mattingly (141), Donnie Corby (149), Mike Miller (165), Ben Bennett (174) and Jarod Trice (285).

In second place, Kent State has five finalists including Nicholas Bedelyon (125), Tyler Small (133), Casey Newburg (184), Dustin Kilgore (197) and Brendan Barlow (285). Third place Buffalo has four finalists with Andrew Schutt (141), Desi Green (149), Mark Lewandowski (157) and John-Martin Cannon (165).

Ohio has three finalists with Gabriel Ramos (125), Nick Purdue (174) and Erik Schuth (197). Host Northern Illinois has two finalists with Bryan Deutsch (157) and Brad Dieckhaus (184).

The 2011 MAC regular season ended with Kent State, Central Michigan and Ohio sharing the title with 4-1 conference records.  Central Michigan has won the last nine consecutive MAC wrestling tournament championships.

The tournament schedule continues on Sunday at 11:00 am CT for fifth and sixth place matches before the Championship and Consolation Finals at Noon.


1.    Central Michigan, 50.0

t-2.  Kent State, 43.5

t-2.  Buffalo, 43.5

4.   Ohio, 26.5

5.   Northern Illinois, 24.5

6.   Eastern Michigan, 10



Matchups are set for Sunday's Championship bouts in all 10 weight classes:

125:  Nicholas Bedelyon (Kent State) vs. Gabriel Ramos (Ohio)

133:  Scotti Sentes (Central Michigan) vs. Tyler Small (Kent State)

141:  Andrew Schutt (Buffalo) vs. Scott Mattingly (Central Michigan)

149:  Desi Green (Buffalo) vs. Donnie Corby (Central Michigan)

157:  Mark Lewandowski (Buffalo) vs. Bryan Deutsch (Northern Illinois)

165:  Mike Miller (Central Michigan) vs. John-Martin Cannon (Buffalo)

174:  Nick Purdue (Ohio) vs. Ben Bennett (Central Michigan)

184:  Casey Newburg (Kent State) vs. Brad Dieckhaus (Northern Illinois)

197:  Dustin Kilgore (Kent State) vs. Erik Schuth (Ohio)

285:  Jarod Trice (Central Michigan) vs. Brendan Barlow (Kent State)