Akron Picked To Win MAC Women's Tennis

Updated 2/1/2010

Akron Picked In MAC Preseason Poll To Win Women's Tennis Championship

For Immediate Release-Monday, Feb. 1, 2010

Cleveland, OH - In the preseason poll conducted among the Mid-American Conference women's tennis coaches, Akron was the choice to capture both the regular season title and the MAC Tournament championship.

Last year Miami earned the 2009 MAC Women's Tennis Championship after defeating Western Michigan, 4-0.  The 2010 tournament is scheduled for April 29-May 2 in Kalamazoo, Mich.

Returning first-team All MAC selections from last year are sophomore Zara Harutyunyan of Akron, who also named last season's MAC's Player of the Year, senior Denise Harijanto of Buffalo, junior Anastasia Dracheva of Miami and senior Maha Guirguis of Toledo.  Returning second-team All MAC selections from last year include junior Anya Baronayte of Akron, junior Christine Chiricosta of Bowling Green, junior Diana Popescu of Buffalo and senior Emily Dudzik of Western Michigan.

The complete voting totals are as follows with seven of the nine head coaches casting votes.

2010 MAC Women's Tennis Preseason Poll

1. Akron (60)

2. Miami (55)

t-3. Buffalo (43)

t-3. Western Michigan (43)

5. Toledo (35)

6. Bowling Green (28)

7. Eastern Michigan (27)

8. Northern Illinois (14)

9. Ball State (10)

(total points based on 9 for a first place vote; 8 for second place, etc.)


First place votes: Akron (5).

Tournament winner votes: Akron (5).