Zips Cruise To Outdoor Track and Field Titles

Updated 5/17/2009

Article courtesy of University of Akron athletic media relations 


Live Scoring Results


Final Results html


Final results pdf


AKRON ? the University of Akron men’s and women’s programs each defended their Mid-American Conference Outdoor Track & Field Championships this weekend, held at Akron’s Lee Jackson Track & Field.


Last year, UA head coach Dennis Mitchell became the first coach to lead two programs to titles in the same year, duplicating the feat this weekend to be named the MAC Men’s and Women’s Coach of the Year.


For the Zips, the women’s program has won four straight MAC Outdoor titles and eight straight between the indoor and outdoor seasons. Akron score 147 points to win, followed by Kent State (106.5), Western Michigan (103), Miami (95.5), Ohio (73), Ball State (62.5), Buffalo (61), Eastern Michigan (53), Bowling Green (43), Central Michigan (37.5), Toledo (27) and Northern Illinois (10).


For the men, Akron wins its second ever title, but did so more convincingly this season. After winning by a single point in 2008, the Zips cruised to the 2009 title with 197 points, leading Eastern Michigan (178), Kent State (172), Central Michigan (103), Buffalo (89) and Miami (74).


In addition to Mitchell’s honor, the MAC also handed out awards on both the women’s and men’s sides for outstanding performances.


2009 MAC Outdoor Honors ? Women:

Most Outstanding Performer: Diana Dumitrescu, Kent State

Most Outstanding Track Performance: Kari Summers, Ohio

Most Outstanding Field Performance: Stevi Large, Akron

Coach of the Year: Dennis Mitchell, Akron


2009 MAC Outdoor Honors ? Men:

Most Outstanding Performers: Josh Karanja, Eastern Michigan and Curtis Eaton Kent State

Most Outstanding Track Performance: Josh Perrin, Eastern Michigan

Most Outstanding Field Performance: Daniel Kinsey, Akron

Coach of the Year: Dennis Mitchell, Akron