Eastern Michigan Men, Akron Women Selected To Win MAC Cross Country Titles

Updated 8/21/2008


CLEVELAND, Ohio ? The Eastern Michigan men’s and Akron women’s cross country teams were picked to win their respective titles at the 2008 MAC Cross Country championship as voted on by the league’s head cross country coaches.


Eastern Michigan is coming of it’s third consecutive men’s cross country team title after racking up 31 points last season at the MAC Championship. The Eagles had three runners that finished in the top five and defeated second place Miami by 19 points. 2007 MAC Men’s Cross Country Coach of the Year John Goodridge will welcome back five All-MAC honorees in 2007 individual champion Josh Perrin (first-team), Josh Karanja (first-team), David Brent (first-team), Curtis Vollmar (second-team) and Kyle Mena (second-team).


Miami was picked to finish second behind Eastern Michigan. The RedHawks were followed by Central Michigan and Kent State in third, while Akron and Ohio rounded out the top six spots in the poll. Buffalo, Toledo and Bowling Green rounded out the men’s poll.


On the women’s side, Akron was picked to finish tops in the MAC after finishing second at last year’s MAC Women’s Cross Country Championships. The women scored 58 points, two points behind preseason favorite and 2007 champion Ohio but 19 points ahead of third-place Miami. The Zips will welcome back four 2007 All-MAC honorees in Cassie Schenk (first-team), Sediah Erskine (second-team), Larisa Arcup (second-team) and Kim Lorentz (second-team).


Ohio was picked to finish in second place on the women’s side after claiming the 2007 team title, while Miami was tabbed to finish third. Toledo, Ball State and Central Michigan filled out the top six sports in this year’s poll. Bowling Green (seventh), Kent State (eighth), Western Michigan (ninth), Eastern Michigan (10th), Buffalo (11th) and Northern Illinois (12th) rounded out the women’s poll.


The 2008 Mid-American Conference Cross Country Championships, hosted by Eastern Michigan University, will be held on Saturday, November 1, 2008.


2008 Women’s Cross Country Preseason Poll

1. Akron

2. Ohio

3. Miami

4. Toledo

5. Ball State

6. Central Michigan

7. Bowling Green

8. Kent State

9. Western Michigan

10. Eastern Michigan

11. Buffalo

12. Northern Illinois

Predicted Women’s Cross Country Champion: Akron


2008 Men’s Cross Country Preseason Poll

1. Eastern Michigan

2. Miami

T3. Central Michigan

T3. Kent State

5. Akron

6. Ohio

7. Buffalo

8. Toledo

9. Bowling Green

Predicted Men’s Cross Country Champion: Eastern Michigan