2005-06 Academic All-MAC Men's Swimming and Diving Team Announced

Updated 3/16/2006

Complete Release in PDF Format
Download Free Acrobat Reader

CLEVELAND, Ohio -- The Mid-American Conference today released its 2005-06 Academic All-MAC Men's Swimming and Diving team as voted on by the league's faculty athletic representatives. A total of 14 student-athletes were named to the team. The number of honorees on the Academic All-MAC Team are the number that is set for the specific sport or 33 percent of the number of nominees, whichever is greater.

2006 MAC runner-up Eastern Michigan led the league in number of honorees, with six swimmers being named to the squad. Ball State followed with four selections to the team. MAC champion Miami had two selections to the squad, while both Buffalo and Ohio garnered one selection a piece.

The 2005-06 Academic All-MAC squad includes six members from last year's team: Ball State's senior tandem of Joshua Schum and Kurtis Leer (the 2006 Co-Most Outstanding Senior Swimmer) were both selections to the team. Buffalo senior Jeff Hurst, EMU junior Dan Wohl, Miami senior diver Zach Niehaus and Ohio's Matthew Bey also garnered repeat selections to the squad.

A total of five members on this season's team garnered all-conference recognition at the conclusion of the MAC Championships in Athens, Ohio on March 4. First-teamers were Leer and Wohl, while Schum, Miami's Andy Amyot and Bey all collected second-team recognition.

First-time selections to the Academic All-MAC squad included Ball State senior Robert Funk and junior diver Zach Whitaker, along EMU juniors Josh Olson, Preston Revere and Jason Piercey, and sophomores Steven Bowling and Andrzej Olesinski. It was also Amyot's first honor.

To qualify, a student-athlete must have at least a 3.20 cumulative GPA and have participated in at least 50 percent of the contests for that particular sport. First year students and junior college transfers in their first year of residence are not eligible for the award. Outstanding academic and athletic accomplishments from the current season only are considered.