Central Michigan Wins MAC Wrestling Championship

Updated 3/6/2011

Central Michigan Wins 2011 MAC Wrestling Tournament

2011 MAC Wrestling Tournament Championship Brackets - Final (see below)


WATCH Video--Central Michigan Awards Presentation

WATCH Video--Central Michigan Head Coach, Tom Borrelli

WATCH Individual Bouts (see below)


DeKalb, Ill. - Central Michigan won its tenth consecutive MAC Wrestling Championship after 79 team points this weekend at the Convocation Center on the campus of Northern Illinois University.  Kent State finished second with 73.5 points, while Buffalo placed third with 69.5 points.

The Chippewas continued their dominance in wrestling claiming their 13th conference tournament championship in the last 14 years.  Central Michigan's Scotti Sentes (133), Ben Bennett (174) and Jarod Trice (285) all won championship bouts in their respective weight classes.

Kent State's second place finish featured Nicholas Bedelyon (125) and Dustin Kilgore (197) each winning their respective weight class.  Buffalo's Andrew Schutt (141), Desi Green (149), Mark Lewandowski (157) and John-Martin Cannon (165) each won their weight class for the Bulls.

Ohio finished fourth with 41.5 points, while host Northern Illinois placed fifth (39.5 points) and Eastern Michigan sixth (14.0 points). Northern Illinois' Brad Dieckhaus won the 184 pound weight class.

For the tournament, Buffalo's John-Martin Cannon was named the MAC Tournament Most-Outstanding Wrestler.

The 2011 MAC regular season ended with Kent State, Central Michigan and Ohio sharing the title with 4-1 conference records.  Central Michigan has won the last nine consecutive MAC wrestling tournament championships.



1.   Central Michigan, 79.0

2.   Kent State, 73.5

3.   Buffalo, 69.5

4.   Ohio, 41.5

5.   Northern Illinois, 39.5

6.   Eastern Michigan, 14.0


2011 MAC Championship Winners:

125:  Nicholas Bedelyon (Kent State) def. Gabriel Ramos (Ohio), 10-3

133:  Scotti Sentes (Central Michigan) def. Tyler Small (Kent State), 9-1

141:  Andrew Schutt (Buffalo) def. Scott Mattingly (Central Michigan), 6-1

149:  Desi Green (Buffalo) def. Donnie Corby (Central Michigan), 3-1

157:  Mark Lewandowski (Buffalo) def. Bryan Deutsch (Northern Illinois), 10-9

165:  John-Martin Cannon (Buffalo) def. Mike Miller (Central Michigan), 6-5

174:  Ben Bennett (Central Michigan) def. Nick Purdue (Ohio), 4-1

184:  Brad Dieckhaus (Northern Illinois) def. Casey Newburg (Kent State), 3-2

197:  Dustin Kilgore (Kent State) def. Erik Schuth (Ohio), 12-6

285:  Jarod Trice (Central Michigan) def. Brendan Barlow (Kent State), 3-2


WATCH VIDEO -- 125 Bout

WATCH VIDEO -- 131 Bout

WATCH VIDEO -- 141 Bout

WATCH VIDEO -- 149 Bout

WATCH VIDEO -- 157 Bout

WATCH VIDEO -- 165 Bout

WATCH VIDEO -- 174 Bout

WATCH VIDEO -- 184 Bout

WATCH VIDEO -- 197 Bout

WATCH VIDEO -- 285 Bout