Mid-American Conference Launches Facebook and Twitter Pages

Updated 4/29/2009

Click Here To Become A "Fan" of the Mid-American Conference on Facebook

Click Here To Become A "Follower" of the Mid-American Conference on Twitter



Cleveland, Ohio -- The Mid-American Conference would like to announce the launching of its Official Twitter and Facebook pages. Both applications will give MAC fans of the league a new way to stay connected with the Conference.


Facebook users can become “fans” of the league while Twitter users can “follow” the Conference. Fans and followers of the MAC will be one of the first people receive updates, breaking news and scores from various Conference events and happenings. Fans are also able to post on the “wall” of the Mid-American Conference and trade messages with other fans of the league.  


Twitter is a site for people to connect with short messages and updates. Users can send a message under 140 characters in length via mobile texting, instant message or the web.


“I think that social networking sites such as Twitter and Facebook have given us a new avenue to reach our fans,” said Jeremy Guy, MAC Associate Director of Media Relations. “Both of these sites have a useful purpose for serving our media as well as our fans. Now people can see a quick update of what is happening in the league no matter where they are and both sites are a great tool in getting the word out about Mid-American Conference athletics.”


Founded in 1946, the Mid-American Conference is an NCAA Division I, 12-member conference that sponsors 23 championships and is one of 11 members of the Football Bowl Subdivison (FBS). With total enrollment of nearly 300,000 students, the league represents institutions of higher learning in six (6) states ? Illinois, Indiana, Michigan, New York, and Ohio. In addition a 13th school ? Temple University in Philadelphia, Pa. -- is an affiliate member for football only.


Current MAC schools that hold full membership and the year they joined are -- East Division: University of Akron (1992), Bowling Green State University (1952), University at Buffalo (1998), Kent State University (1951), Miami University (1947), Ohio University (1946). West Division: Ball State University (1973), Central Michigan University (1971), Eastern Michigan University (1971), Northern Illinois University (1975-86, rejoined in 1997), University of Toledo (1950), Western Michigan University (1947).  Temple University (2007) competes in the East Division in football only.


The league office is based in Cleveland, Ohio. Additional information can be found at www.mac-sports.com