MAC Announces Men's Academic Tennis Team

Updated 5/3/2007

MAC Announces Men’s Tennis Academic All-MAC Team

Cleveland -- The Academic All-MAC Men’s tennis team as voted by league Faculty Athletic Representatives was announced today.

Leading the way with four selections for the second year in a row was tournament champion Western Michigan as senior Brady Crosby and junior Alex Birchmeier were repeat selections from last year. For Crosby, it was his third consecutive selection to the academic team. Also representing the MAC Champions are Bryan Norville and John Pelton.

Buffalo was the only other program with more than one selection as Mike Rockman, also a 2006 honoree, and Eric Rothstein were named to the squad.

Rounding out the squad are Aaron Phillips of Ball State, Diego Zegarra-Ballon of Northern Illinois and Jared Miller of Toledo.

All-MAC players who also were named to the academic team are Brady Crosby and Alex Birchmeier from Western Michigan, Aaron Phillips of Ball State and Jared Miller of Toledo.

Due to ties in the voting the squad was expanded from six to nine. Nominees must have a minimum 3.20 cumulative grade point average to be eligible for the team.