MAC Announces 2006-2007 Women's Swimming and Diving Academic All-MAC team

Updated 2/21/2007

The Mid-American Conference released its 2006-07 Academic All-MAC Women’s Swimming and Diving team as voted on by the league’s faculty athletic representatives. A total of 20 student-athletes were named to the team. The number of honorees on the Academic All-MAC Team are the number that is set for the specific sport or 33 percent of the number of nominees, whichever is greater.

2007 MAC Champion Eastern Michigan led the league in number of honorees, with five swimmers and/or divers being named to the squad. Madeleine Pilchard, the 2007 MAC Swimmer of the Year and Diver of the Year Sarah Chrzanowski were two of the five Eagles elected. Third-place Miami and seventh-place Ball State followed with four selections to the team, while Akron and Toledo had two selections. Bowling Green, Buffalo and Ohio had one student athlete named to this year’s team.

The 2006-07 Academic All-MAC squad includes seven members from last year’s team: Akron senior Ashleigh Powell, Ball State

Senior Mary Brinkoetter ( 2007 second team All-MAC selection), Eastern Michigan’s senior trio of Sarah Chrzanowski, Madeleine Pilchard and Claire Letendre, and Toledo seniors Katie Childers and Makenzie Manard were all named to the 2005-06 Academic All-MAC team.

A total of 10 members on this season’s team garnered all-conference recognition at the conclusion of last week’s MAC Championships at Eastern Michigan’s Jones Natatorium. First-teamers were EMU’s Sarah Chrzanowski, Madeleine Pilchard and Becky Renkola, Bowling Green’s Caroline Keating and Ohio’s Michaela Hahn-Lawson. All-MAC second-team honorees that were also a member of the All-Academic squad included Miami’s Kathyrn Stephens and Kristen Bezier, Mary Brinkoetter of Ball State, Toledo’s Makenzie Manard and Claire Letendre of Eastern Michigan.

To be nominated, a student-athlete must have at least a 3.20 cumulative GPA and have participated in at least 50 percent of the contests for that particular sport. First year students and junior college transfers in their first year of residence are not eligible for the award. Outstanding academic and athletic accomplishments from the current season only are considered.