MAC Announces 2009-10 Preseason Wrestling Rankings

Updated 10/30/2009

Central Michigan tabbed as favorite and will attempt to repeat as MAC Champions

CLEVELAND, Ohio-The Mid-American Conference wrestling coaches announced the preseason weight class individual rankings in conjunction with the league office today.  The rankings will be released on the second Tuesday of each month throughout the season, with one additional ranking system (two total) in January and February.

Based on the individual rankings, Central Michigan is expected to edge challenger Kent State in a close call for the 2010 championship. The preseason rankings, voted on by the league's head coaches in an open forum, are as follows:


125 - 1. Conor Beebe (CMU); 2. Nic Bedelyon (KSU); 3. Dan Bishop (UB); 4. Izzy Montemayor (NIU).

133 - 1. Dan Mitcheff (KSU); 2. Scott Sentes (CMU); 3. Tristen DeShazer (NIU); 4. Kevin Smith (UB).

141 - 1. Pat McLemore (NIU); 2. Germane Lindsey (OU); 3. Jeff Shutich (CMU); 4. Chase Skonieczny (KSU).

149 - 1. Desi Green (UB); 2. Matt Cathell (KSU); 3. J.J. Johnson (EMU); 4. Tony D'Alie (CMU).

157 - 1. Steve Brown (CMU); 2. Bryan Deutsch (NIU); 3. Clay Tucker (OU); 4. Shuster/Tice (KSU).

165 - 1. Obie Simpson (KSU); 2. Tyler Grayson (CMU); 3. John Odeen (NIU); 4. John-Martin Cannon (UB).

174 - 1. Mike Miller (CMU); 2. Jacob Ison (OU); 3. Chris Estep (KSU); 4. Derrick Yant (NIU).

184 - 1. Dustin Kilgore (KSU); 2. Ben Bennett (CMU); 3. Brian Dieckhaus (NIU); 4. Nick Purdue (OU).

197 - 1. Jimmy Hamel (UB); 2. Eric Simaz (CMU); 3. Eric Schuth (OU); 4. Adam Cogar (KSU).

HWT - 1. Jared Trice (CMU); 2. Brandon Barlow (KSU); 3. Andy Hartshorn (OU); 4. Dakota Greenhaw (NIU).

The preseason team rankings were also decided in the same forum.  The six schools were ranked based on the number of first through fourth-place votes that were earned in the individual voting system.  A first-place vote was worth four team points; a second-place vote earned three team points; third-seeded votes were worth two team points, while a fourth-place tally earned that team one point in the team ranking system.  The preseason team rankings for the MAC are as follows:

2009-10 MAC Preseason Poll

1.             Central Michigan (28)

2.             Kent State (26)

3.             Northern Illinois (16)

4.             Ohio (13)

5.             Buffalo (12)

6.             Eastern Michigan (5)

The 2009-10 MAC Wrestling Championships will be held March 6-7 and hosted by Central Michigan University.   Last year, Central Michigan won its eighth consecutive MAC wrestling championship with 111.5 team points.  Kent State was the runner-up with 82.5 points, while Northern Illinois was third with 47.5.

The 2009-10 season opens November 7 with defending MAC Champion Central Michigan at the Eastern Michigan Open, while Kent State will travel to Virginia Tech and Buffalo will host Ashland.