MAC Announces Men's Swimming and Diving Academic All-MAC Team

Updated 4/12/2011
CLEVELAND - The Mid-American Conference announced its 2010-11 Men's Swimming and Diving Academic All-MAC team Tuesday, as voted on by faculty athletic representatives at MAC institutions. A total of 14 student-athletes were named to the team.

The list was highlighted by 1st Team All-MAC performers Daan Jansen of Missouri State and Matt Parsons of Southern Illinois. Jansen finished second in the 400 IM and third in the 1650 Freestyle while Parsons was second in the 200 Freestyle, third in the 500 Freestyle and tied for third in the 200 Fly. Other members of the team who were honored at the 2011 MAC Men's Swimming and Diving Championships included All-MAC 2nd Teamers Simon Proudfoot of Buffalo, Justin Griggs and Andrew Saunders of Eastern Michigan, Jason Hass of Miami and Matt Kruse of Southern Illinois.

The Academic All-MAC honor is for a student-athlete who has excelled in athletics and academics. To qualify, a student-athlete must have at least a 3.20 cumulative GPA and have participated in at least 50% of the contests for that particular sport. First-year students and junior college transfers in their first year of residence are not eligible for the award.

2010-11 Men's Academic All-MAC Swimming and Diving Team
Ryan Gordyan, Ball State
Simon Proudfoot, Buffalo
Justin Griggs, Eastern Michigan
Ricky Linder, Eastern Michigan
Gilles Renard, Eastern Michigan
Andrew Saunders, Eastern Michigan
Andy Balczo, Evansville
Colin Gray, Evansville
John Eick, Miami
Jason Hass, Miami
Daan Jansen, Missouri State
Chris Novak, Missouri State
Matt Kruse, Southern Illinois
Matt Parsons, Southern Illinois

2010-11 Men's Academic All-MAC Honorable Mention
Tony DeBrota, Ball State
Mark Golden, Ball State
Andrew Hostetler, Ball State
Mark Nau, Ball State
Chris Berloth, Buffalo
Paul Garman, Buffalo
Sterling Gell, Buffalo
Colin Patrican, Buffalo
Ryan Smrekar, Buffalo
Connor Christie, Eastern Michigan
Jeffrey Craig, Eastern Michigan
Jake Heyblom, Eastern Michigan
Dave Stefl, Eastern Michigan
Kyle Tiemann, Evansville
Sam Childs, Miami
Alex Reinhardt, Miami
Kegan Rogers, Miami
Trevor Tilly, Miami
Waldo Broodryk, Missouri State
Dillon Burns, Missouri State
Tyler Saltzberry, Missouri State
Tony Bousquet, Southern Illinois
Jared Bradd, Southern Illinois
Nathan Day, Southern Illinois
Marco Madeira, Southern Illinois
Cesar Perez, Southern Illinois
Kyle Riekena, Southern Illinois
Justin Wolfe, Southern Illinois