MAC Wrestling Coaches January Rankings

Updated 1/20/2010


Central Michigan continues to maintain advantage over Kent State in Coaches January rankings.

For Immediate Release--Wednesday, Jan. 20, 2010

CLEVELAND, Ohio - The Mid-American Conference wrestling coaches announced the month of January rankings in conjunction with the league office today.  The rankings will be released on the second Tuesday of each month throughout the season, with one additional ranking system (two total) in January and February.

Based on the individual rankings, Central Michigan maintains its advantage over Kent State for the 2010 championship. The January rankings, voted on by the league's head coaches in an open forum, are as follows:


125 - 1. Matt Steintrager (CMU); 2. Chris Jenkins (EMU); 3. Dan Bishop (UB); 4. Izzy Montemayor (NIU).

133 - 1. Dan Mitcheff (KSU); 2. Scott Sentes (CMU); 3. Kevin Smith (UB); 4. Tristen DeShazer (NIU).

141 - 1. Pat McLemore (NIU); 2. Germane Lindsey (OU); 3. Chase Skonieczny (KSU); 4. Jeff Shutich/Ryan Cubberly (CMU).

149 - t-1. Desi Green (UB); t-1. Tony D'Alie (CMU). 3. Matt Cathell (KSU); 4. Seth Morton (OU).

157 - 1. Steve Brown (CMU); 2. Bryan Deutsch (NIU); 4. Mallie Shuster (KSU); 4. Clay Tucker (OU).

165 - 1. Tyler Grayson (CMU); 2. Obie Simpson/Ross Tice (KSU); 3. John-Martin Cannon (UB); 4. John Odeen (NIU).

174 - 1. Ben Bennett (CMU); 2. Jacob Ison (OU); 3. Keith Witt (KSU); 4. Derrick Yant (NIU).

184 - 1. Dustin Kilgore (KSU); 2. Mike Miller (CMU); 3. Nick Purdue (OU); 4. Brian Dieckhaus (NIU).

197 - 1. Jimmy Hamel (UB); 2. Eric Schuth (OU); 3. Eric Simaz (CMU); 4. Adam Cogar (KSU).

HWT - 1. Jarod Trice (CMU); 2. Brandon Barlow (KSU); 3. David Wade (EMU) 4. Andy Hartshorn (OU).

The January team rankings were also decided in the same forum.  The six schools were ranked based on the number of first through fourth-place votes that were earned in the individual voting system.  A first-place vote was worth four team points; a second-place vote earned three team points; third-seeded votes were worth two team points, while a fourth-place tally earned that team one point in the team ranking system.  The January rankings for the MAC are as follows:

MAC January Rankings

1.             Central Michigan (32.5)

2.             Kent State (23)

3.             Ohio (14)

4.             Buffalo (13.5)

5.             Northern Illinois (12)

6.             Eastern Michigan (5)

The 2009-10 MAC Wrestling Championships will be held March 6-7 and hosted by Central Michigan University.   Last year, Central Michigan won its eighth consecutive MAC wrestling championship with 111.5 team points.  Kent State was the runner-up with 82.5 points, while Northern Illinois was third with 47.5.