MAC Releases Men's Tennis Awards

Updated 4/28/2009

Cleveland, Ohio ? Western Michigan University, the 2009 Mid-American Conference men’s regular season and tournament champion, came away with top individual honors also as voted by league coaches.


The Broncos were honored with Dave Morin winning Coach of the Year, Kevin Hayward as Player of the Year, and Michael Calderone as the MAC Tournament Most Outstanding Player. In addition Hayward and Calderone, as well as teammate Kazuya Komada were voted to the All-MAC first team. For Hayward, it marked his third consecutive first team all-conference selection.


Toledo’s Jared Miller was recognized with the Jack Vredevelt Sportsmanship Award, and Pawel Poziomski of Northern Illinois was tabbed as the Newcomer of the Year.


Miller was also named first team All-MAC for the first time after three successive second team honors. The first team was completed with the selections of Eduardo Pavia of Ball State and Jurica Grubisic from Northern Illinois. Pavia is a repeat first team honoree from 2008.


Poziomski was also named to the second team, as was Ball State’s Jose Perdomo, a 2008 first team honoree. Completing the second team squad, which was expanded to seven members due to a tie in the voting, were Cliff Morrison of Ball State, Buffalo teammates Marcello Mazzetto and Kirill Kolomyts, Northern Illinois’ Javier Bernabe, and Toledo’s Knot Likitumchorn.


The Academic All-MAC tennis team will be announced next week.


2009 All-MAC



Eduardo Pavia, Ball State, So., Carolina, Puerto Rico

Jurica Grubisic, Northern Illinois, Fr., Sibenik, Croatia

Jared Miller, Toledo, Sr., Parkersburg, W.Va.

Kevin Hayward, Western Michigan, Sr., Ann Arbor, Mich.
Michael Calderone, Western Michigan, So., Grass Lake, Mich.
Kazuya Komada, Western Michigan, So, Osaka, Japan



Jose Perdomo, Ball State, Sr., Trujillo Alto, Puerto Rico
Cliff Morrison, Ball State, Fr., South Africa
Marcello Mazzetto, Buffalo, So., Sao Paulo, Brazil
Kirill Kolomyts, Buffalo, Jr., Moscow, Russia
Pawel Poziomski, Northern Illinois, Fr., Gdynia, Poland
Javier Bernabe, Northern Illinois, Jr., Segovia, Spain
Knot Likitumchorn, Toledo, So., Yala, Thailand


COACH OF THE YEAR: Dave Morin, Western Michigan


NEWCOMER OF THE YEAR: Pawel Poziomski, Northern Illinois


PLAYER OF THEYEAR: Kevin Hayward, Western Michigan




All-Tournament Team
Michael Calderone, Western Michigan (MOP)
Kazuya Komada, Western Michigan
Jared Miller, Toledo
Aleksander Elezovic, Toledo
Jorge Rodriguez, Ball State
Jurica Grubisic, Northern Illinois