2009 Academic All-MAC Gymnastics Team Named

Updated 4/15/2009

CLEVELAND, Ohio -- The Mid-American Conference released its 2009 Academic All-MAC Women’s Gymnastics team as voted on by the league’s faculty athletic representatives. A total of 12 student-athletes were named to the team. The number of honorees on the Academic All-MAC Team is the number that is set for the specific sport or 33 percent of the number of nominees, whichever is greater.


MAC Champion Kent State led the way with four selections in Lydia Barrett, Laci Hendress, Brittany Kopp and Rachel Stuck.  Hendress has been named to the team for three consecutive seasons while Barrett and Stuck are on recipients for the second consecutive season.


Northern Illinois landed three student-athletes on the team, led by three time honoree Jennifer Naughton.  Joining Naughton are Jessica Marston and Holly Reichard.  Central Michigan’s Jessica Neel is also a three time honoree, she is joined by Katie Simon.


Ball State, Eastern Michigan and Western Michigan each add one to the team in Brittany Bauer, Erin Grigg and Andrea Perini.  BSU’s Bauer is the only recipient this season to boast a 4.00 GPA, while WMU’s Perini a three-time Academic All-MAC recipient.


To be nominated, a student-athlete must have at least a 3.20 cumulative GPA and have participated in at least 50 percent of the contests for that particular sport. First year students and junior college transfers in their first year of residence are not eligible for the award. Outstanding academic and athletic accomplishments from the current season only are considered.


2009 Academic All-MAC Selections


Brittany Bauer, Ball State*

Jessica Neel, Central Michigan*

Katie Simon, Central Michigan

Erin Grigg, Eastern Michigan

Lydia Barrett, Kent State^

Laci Hendress, Kent State*

Brittany Kopp, Kent State

Rachel Stuck, Kent State^

Jessica Marston, Northern Illinois

Jennifer Naughton, Northern Illinois*

Holly Reichard, Northern Illinois

Andrea Perini, Western Michigan*


^2008 Academic All-MAC Team Selection

*2007, 2008 Academic All-MAC Team Selection